Cloistered

alexwh
Photographs, Photography & Words
2 min readAug 31, 2020

Saturday, August 22, 2020

Photographs — Alex Waterhouse-Hayward

1. having or enclosed by a cloister, as in a monastery. “a cloistered walkway bordered the courtyard”

2. kept away from the outside world; sheltered.”a cloistered upbringing”

I dislike the term lockdown, and other words used to our world’s present situation. The word cloistered seems to me a more adequate and a bit more friendly word to describe what is my state of affairs. So I can thusly write I am in a cloister in Kitsilano.

And with all this time in my hands I find myself trying to find the value of the stuff in my house. There is a lot of it even though when we moved from Kerrisdale we did a lot (that what my now 18 year-old granddaughter called it) dumpomatic.

Consider the possible value (as in my personal estimation, nothing to do with money) of the 18 sessions I had with the devastatingly beautiful Katheryn. What you see here are two scanned photographs on a contact sheet from a shoot in my Kerrisdale tub. They were part of a show I had of over 12 women that I posed more or less in the same way in the tub. From about 75 photographs that I took of Katheryn I had to pick one. It became my invitation card in the 1990 show. The photograph is striking and dramatic.

But what of the others? I even shot some in colour transparency?

I can also safely write here that all my negatives of all these beautiful women are cloistered in my oficina. Who will see them when I am gone?

I have no idea but I wrote about that here.

Originally published at http://blog.alexwaterhousehayward.com.

--

--

alexwh
Photographs, Photography & Words

Into Bunny Watson. I am a Vancouver-based magazine photographer/writer. I have a popular daily blog which can be found at:http://t.co/yf6BbOIQ alexwh@telus.net