Forgotten & Then Found

alexwh
Photographs, Photography & Words
2 min readFeb 27, 2017
Photograph — Alex Waterhouse-Hayward

In my beginning darkroom in Arboledas, Estado de México around 1971 my darkroom was the bathroom in my shop. As you might imagine my shop where I had a bench saw and I made furniture which I then spray painted with automobile lacquer did not provide a dust-free environment with darkroom.

When we moved to Vancouver in 1975, in our first house in Burnaby I had a splendid and very large and pristine darkroom with its own separate bathroom.

In our Kerrisdale, on Athlone Street house my darkroom was a good one but it had poor ventilation. The bathroom was at the end of a short aisle.

I am harping about the bathrooms because they were where I hung my wet negatives to dry.

Now in my fourth (and obviously) last little home I have no darkroom. I have my colour negative film processed by The Lab. I process my b+w film in the bathroom in the upper guest room.

A day ago I processed two rolls of 120 Kodak T-Max 100 Film there. They were the pictures of Deuphine.

In that bathroom I have a rack where I dry my negatives. On the rack I found this Fuji FP-3000B Instant B+W negative peel of Olena, the woman with the blue hair. At one time when this film was readily available we idiots (or at least this idiot) used to throw them away. But you can do wonders with these peels if they are allowed to dry. Sometimes dust and grit collects on them. I had re-washed the peel (very carefully) and forgotten about it.

Link to: Forgotten & Then Found

Originally published at blog.alexwaterhousehayward.com.

--

--

alexwh
Photographs, Photography & Words

Into Bunny Watson. I am a Vancouver-based magazine photographer/writer. I have a popular daily blog which can be found at:http://t.co/yf6BbOIQ alexwh@telus.net