Iris On My Dinner Plate

alexwh
Photographs, Photography & Words
1 min readJun 26, 2020

Thursday, June 04, 2020

Iris ensata ‘Dinner Plate Cupcake’ 04 June 2020 — scan from my garden

Not generally known (I have won many bets on this) is that France’s fleur-de-lis is not what you will find if you look it up. The example below is one of many.

Art•Heraldry

a stylized lily composed of three petals bound together near their bases. It is especially known from the former royal arms of France, in which it appears in gold on a blue field.

What the French symbol really is. is an iris. Wikipedia corrects this:

The fleur de lis is widely thought to be a stylized version of the species Iris pseudacorus, or Iris florentina. … Lily (in Italian: giglio) is the name usually associated with the stylized flower in the Florentine heraldic devices.

Why am I citing all this? I have already blogged about iris here. So when a new iris came into our garden via my Rosemary and I scanned it I had to find an excuse.

Link to: Iris On My Dinner Plate

--

--

alexwh
Photographs, Photography & Words

Into Bunny Watson. I am a Vancouver-based magazine photographer/writer. I have a popular daily blog which can be found at:http://t.co/yf6BbOIQ alexwh@telus.net