Linda Lost & Found

alexwh
Photographs, Photography & Words
2 min readJan 23, 2017
Photographs — Alex Waterhouse-Hayward

While I am alive I want to know where every picture I ever took is. This is both unreasonable and unlikely. There are many photographs that I took with my first couple of cameras that I cannot find.

Loss can be random and yet I remember moving from one little apartment to another with my Rosemary around 1969 when my best pipe, an English Bewlay given to me by my Argentine uncle Fred Hayward and one record, Miles Davis-Kind of Blue disappeared from our moving van. I will never know if those two Mexicans from a small moving van company knew what they had taken.

The sheet of negatives that you see here I lost approximately 10 years ago and every time I remember the loss I feel like crying. Who do painters cope with the selling of an original work?

These photographs are of Argentine model Linda Lorenzo with whom my friends and Argentine painters Juan Manuel Sánchez and Linda Lorenzo worked in a project of “colaboración that we called Nostalgia. We had a grand gallery show of our output.

In this contact sheet (in this case the scanned negatives) in which I used Kodak B+W Infrared Film the theme was the Borges labyrinth and the other posing with an Argentine ostrich egg. Lorenzo had fabulous curves so I could not resist sliding of the theme. The Borges labyrinth is interpreted with Lorenzo posing in a sofa with the sofa itself part of two painting by Sánchez and Patrich.

I found the negatives between my alphabetized files. Somehow I had returned them without putting then in the file in question labeled, Lorenzo, Linda.

Link to: Linda Lost & Found

Originally published at blog.alexwaterhousehayward.com.

--

--

alexwh
Photographs, Photography & Words

Into Bunny Watson. I am a Vancouver-based magazine photographer/writer. I have a popular daily blog which can be found at:http://t.co/yf6BbOIQ alexwh@telus.net