Mirror of no Return

alexwh
Photographs, Photography & Words
2 min readApr 29, 2018
Photographs — Alex Waterhouse-Hayward

I had lunch today at the Sylvia Hotel here in Vancouver with friends who were friends of Mark Budgen, a writer who died a few years ago.

Paramount to everything we talked about was for me the salient thought of stuff that we would never do together again.

In American Air Force display flights when one of their squadron has died the formation will have that one slot with a plane missing.

Without Mark Budgen all those moments we shared in work and play can only return in our memories. As the mutual friends diminish (there were only four of us) those memories will fade to black.

In photography I sort of feel the same when I look at any of the pictures I took in my past (even a recent one). The three pictures here, all featuring a mirror have their flaws. Two in particular have feet cut off. One has neck folds (a no-no!)

Could I retake these photographs? No. I would probably not be able to find my subjects and if I did they would refuse. Time will have passed and they will no longer feel comfortable shedding clothes.

In my photography I must continue upwards (I hope). But it would be nice to shoot these again from a point of view of now (perhaps) knowing what I am doing.

Link to: Mirror of no Return

Originally published at blog.alexwaterhousehayward.com.

--

--

alexwh
Photographs, Photography & Words

Into Bunny Watson. I am a Vancouver-based magazine photographer/writer. I have a popular daily blog which can be found at:http://t.co/yf6BbOIQ alexwh@telus.net