No Attitude But Perhaps Edgy II

alexwh
Photographs, Photography & Words
2 min readMar 3, 2018

I believe that a photographer is as good as his or her last photograph. It should apply just as it did to Western gunfighters. If you were not good you were dead.

I wrote about the issue of attitude and edginess here. I would like to elaborate.

I am a 75 year old obsolete, redundant & retired magazine photographer. I refuse to put that hackneyed epithet “award-winning” in front of my name. But I do believe that I am taking some of the best photographs of my life right now.

There is an expression in Spanish that applies. “Más sabe el diablo por viejo que por diablo.” Or, the devil knows more not because he is the devil but because he is old.

I am unable to convince or explain to any of my contemporaries here in Vancouver BC why I would want to repair my iPhone3G and remove its SIM card and use it only as a camera. They all point out to the merits of newer iPhones.

But the 3G when used properly (in low contrast situations) or in my case with the modeling lights of my studio flashes I get results that would be “badly improved” by newer phones or digital cameras.

I spent $50 Canadian to repair the central button of the 3G and then $64 Caanadian to buy a clamp so I can affix it to my tripod.

In the picture above I did not use the clamp. I went to Corel Paint Shop Pro X2 to the Photo Effects — Cross Process and clicked. I sharpened it a tad. And that’s it.

--

--

alexwh
Photographs, Photography & Words

Into Bunny Watson. I am a Vancouver-based magazine photographer/writer. I have a popular daily blog which can be found at:http://t.co/yf6BbOIQ alexwh@telus.net