Satin Doll

alexwh
Photographs, Photography & Words
2 min readApr 17, 2017
Nina — Photographs- Alex Waterhouse-Hayward

In these pages I have often written how having a subject (person) to photograph in a studio with the following elements:

1. a gray wall behind

2. a good light in front of subject

3. a big camera on a tripod

4. the photographer behind the camera

This is certain to go nowhere. Adding loud heavy metal or soft Bach will not help. Nor will wine or some light drug.

What is needed is an idea which usually is chewed on the previous night either in bed or in a hot bathtub.

Props might help like a box full of bolts of satin.

Ultimately what I have needed so as to attain some level of success is a pliant subject with ideas of their own. It helps if my subject is graceful and patient.

Nina (alas! she now lives in Spain) always met me on the studio floor with equanimity and with a quiet patience that almost hid her inside enthusiasm to that which she was doing.

Now in 2017 with a smaller studio and time in my hands I am yet to find a Nina (or for a Nina to find me).

Originally published at blog.alexwaterhousehayward.com.

--

--

alexwh
Photographs, Photography & Words

Into Bunny Watson. I am a Vancouver-based magazine photographer/writer. I have a popular daily blog which can be found at:http://t.co/yf6BbOIQ alexwh@telus.net