Photographing lupine flowers with the Canon EOS 80D DSLR

Jose Antunes
Photography and Context
2 min readMar 29, 2016

--

The better dynamic range of the Canon EOS 80D, launched March 2016, means I can photograph flowers with less light and still get good results, simply by going up to 800 ISO. This is just the beginning of a new adventure.

I had the opportunity to try a Canon EOS 80D for three days, but rain and bad weather made it difficult to use it for what I wanted: video of flowers in the fields. Still, I got to photograph the first lupine flowers of this Spring, at the end of a cloudy day with little available light. The results are very promising.

For flower photography I usually work with wide apertures, to keep backgrounds out-of-focus, so speed is not usually one of my main concerns, although my focal length of choice for flowers is usually around 400mm, lately the new model launched last year, the impressive EF 100–400mm f/4.5–5.6 L IS II USM. I want to use it for video as well, but that experience will have to wait a little longer. For now I managed to photograph a few lupine flowers (from which we mostly get the yellow variety over here), from which I picked three photos to show the potential of the new camera.

The photographs published here only show part of the story. To read the whole article please follow the link to my article at ProVideo Coalition Flowers at high ISO with the EOS 80D

--

--

Jose Antunes
Photography and Context

I am a writer and photographer based on the West coast of continental Europe, a place to see the Sun die on the Sea, every day.