The Last Colours of Summer

Jose Antunes
Photography and Context
5 min readOct 13, 2016

--

I recently spent some three hours photographing, or should I say, letting my mind go. It is a therapeutic method I found to be with the inner me. Through the camera, that shows me the outside world, I touch the intimacy of my mind.

It’s a “let go” process. Once I start it just takes me and makes me continue. Now, though, I’ve discovered that I reach a point when I say “it’s enough”. Before I would keep hour after hour, forgetting time. I seem to be more conscious of the need to distance myself from that behavior. Now it feels as if I’ve quenched my thirst and must go home, to savor those moments in a different way. I’ve accepted that the places will be there when I return, ready to give me more “let go” experiences.

I feel that, even when do not pick my camera, I am more aware of the places I cherish the most, those I return over and over. I’ve reduced the scope of places I visit, as I feel that I don’t need new places to feel the urge to photograph. What I need are new mindsets to see in a new light the places I know; and I’ve discovered how to get there and it works.

There is, I dare say, a kind of complicity between me and those places. That’s something I felt again on this visit to one of the gardens I like the most for spending some hours.

I still search for new destinations but there’s a rule: places must offer more than nice views. I am exploring new ones for 2017, for my “photography & context” tours. Some of them are not new, but an idea kept aside for a while. Others expand the exploration beyond places or themes I am already familiar with.

A story is essential, though, as is the right atmosphere for a contemplative experience. Places that help you discover your inner world. Places that are more important than any new fancy photo technique someone is trying to sell you.

I am a facilitator, I could say: but first of experiences that bind people to their inner world. Photographic technique comes second. Technique is essential only as far as it allows you to create the images your heart sees. But you reach your goal through a mix of technique, discipline and pure serendipity.

I hope the series of images presented here reflects that. They represent close to three hours of wandering in a public garden — one of my regular destinations. Again, photographs taken around high-noon, defying the usual concepts photography schools will teach you. I enjoy the challenge and the results I get make me keep going in this direction without regrets.

The world has enough early morning and late afternoon photographs, many taken at the same spot. Many photographers can not resist having their own copies of someone else’s creativity. I like the high-noon period, also because I am the only photographer around…

I am not in photography to create my own style. Having a style would mean being under a category, and I am always expanding my frontiers with the tools I use. I am also not after making exact copies of the photographs others did at popular hot spots. Although I will take people to some places and show them the views I cherish, I use that as a guide and starting point.

I always hope to see people riding with me finding their own “inner hotspots”. It’s a triumph when they show the place the way they see it, instead of blindingly following a voice telling them: “photograph or frame this way”. I believe the true “hotspots” are in our minds, we just have to discover the way to reach them and start from there. That’s how it all makes sense to me.

As a last note for this series of images, let me say that they explore something that is, in practical terms, new to me: using Auto ISO. I’ve never felt the need to use Auto ISO, but the recent cameras do allow you to explore that option. Higher ISO images are quite usable these days, even more so when you work under lots of light, what was the case for the photographs published here.

I’ve written a whole article at ProVideo Coalition about the technical aspects of Auto ISO and how I explored it in these photographs. I also talk about other options available, including for video. So, if you want to know the technical aspects of this story, follow the link to the article Auto ISO as a creative tool.

I hope that with this text and the one that complements and extends its information you get enough knowledge to explore the technique on your own. If by any chance you feel that this resonates with you, and you want to walk some of the paths I walk, then do get in touch.

--

--

Jose Antunes
Photography and Context

I am a writer and photographer based on the West coast of continental Europe, a place to see the Sun die on the Sea, every day.