#51days51children

Children of Gaza

UNICEF
Photography and social change

--

One year on, Palestinian children in Gaza are still trying to recover from the devastating effects of 51 days of hostilities in 2014, compounded by the slow pace of reconstruction. Children older than 6 have now witnessed three conflicts in their short lives, and those under the age of 9 have only known life under blockade. UNICEF is on the ground, leading humanitarian interventions to help children recover.

© UNICEF/UNI193944/El Baba

Taleen, 7 years old, in Khan Younis, southern Gaza Strip

“Last summer was not nice because there was a war. We stayed home. We were scared all the time. This summer is nice because my dad takes us to places like this swimming pool. It is a lot of fun swimming and seeing other children like me playing.”

© UNICEF/UNI189366/El Baba

Ibrahim, 9 years old, in Der Al Balah, central Gaza Strip

“I lost my leg due to an Israeli airstrike in the last war. I used to play in the street with my five best friends all the time; now, every time I try to play with them, my artificial leg starts to really itch, so I have to sit in the wheelchair until the itching goes away, which usually takes too long. When I grow up, I want to be a doctor so I can treat people, like the doctors who treated me.”

© UNICEF/UNI193941/El Baba

Alaa’, 12 years old, in Beit Lahia, northern Gaza Strip

“I am carrying those bottles to fill them up with clean drinking water. This is a daunting task; every day I walk a long distance to reach the nearest water vendor under the burning sun. My house was destroyed during the war last year. Now I live in a rental that lacks a water network and water storage, so I have to walk and fetch water every day.”

© UNICEF/UNI189629/El Baba

Yahia, 13 years old, in Khan Younis, southern Gaza Strip

“During the summer break, I sell snacks to children on the beach. I make about 10 NIS (US$2.50) per day. I use the money to support my dad, who also sells food on the beach. I wish I could spend my time playing or swimming like other children, but I come from a poor family, and we all have to work to live.”

© UNICEF/UNI192392/El Baba

Nisreen, 10 years old, in Khan Younis, southern Gaza Strip

“I am wearing this nice white dress because today is my brother’s wedding! Behind me is my house, which was destroyed in the last war. We are now living in a small rental unit nearby; it is unfurnished and nothing like our previous home. I am very good at school and want to become a lawyer one day.”

© UNICEF/UNI193946/El Baba

Ekram, 11 years old in Khan Younis, southern Gaza Strip

“Behind me is my uncle’s house and, next to it, what’s left of my house after last year’s war. Now we all live with my uncle — 13 people in his house. The doors and windows were blown out in the blast, so we replaced them with plastic or clothing sheets. This winter, it was terribly cold inside, and now, it’s terribly hot and full of insects. The worst is that I have no privacy. I dread changing clothes just because I know the others will see me.”

© UNICEF/UNI192388/El Baba

Maryam, 10 years old, in Rafah, southern Gaza Strip

“I live in a tiny house in Khan Younis refugee camp. During summer, it gets very hot inside, and outside, there is nowhere to play as it is very crowded in the camp. I love coming to the sea, where I can play and have fun, but it is far from my home. I wish that my refugee camp will have a park and playground one day.”

© UNICEF/UNI192498/El Baba

Anas, 14 years old, in Rafah, southern Gaza Strip

“My house was destroyed during the war last year. We moved to a small rental, which is too small to accommodate my family of 10. What makes things worse is the lack of electricity in Gaza; we only have power four hours a day. No electricity also means no running water to wash ourselves. It is so hot and so humid in the small rental that I usually escape to spend the night in the ruins of my home, where I can get a little breeze. I am lucky tonight; there is a full moon.”

© UNICEF/UNI194566/El Baba

Bilal, 14 years old, in Juhor ad-Dik, central Gaza Strip

“I live in Juhor ad-Dik, an area of Gaza adjacent to the border with Israel. My father used to be a farmer, but during the last war, Israeli tanks levelled our home, our small animal farm and our farmland. Now my father is jobless, and we have all become dependent on food aid.”

© UNICEF/UNI194575/El Baba

Saber, 5 years old, in Beit Lahia, northern Gaza Strip

“I used to live in this building. It was destroyed during the last war, so now we live in a rental place nearby. All the apartments in this area were destroyed, and many of my friends moved away, except for a few whom I still play with every day from morning till sunset.”

© UNICEF/UNI189630/El Baba

Ro’a, 9 years old, in Khan Younis, southern Gaza Strip

“I love to spend time on the beach with my family. Today, I built my dream house out of sand; it is big and overlooks the sea, with plenty of space to play inside. It is nothing like the one I currently live in, which was partially damaged from shelling during the last war.”

© UNICEF/UNI193942/El Baba

Nassar, 11 years old, in Rafah, southern Gaza Strip

“My friends and I are trying to cool off during the heat wave by pouring water on each other. I live in a house with a metal roof; it is very hot. My new brother, who is only 2 months old, cannot sleep at all because it is so hot. He cries all the time. My dream is to live in a house with a cement roof and air conditioning.”

© UNICEF/UNI192391/El Baba

Mu’tassem, 9 years old, in Khan Younis, southern Gaza Strip

“Behind me is the wooden house that my father started building for our family after our home was destroyed during the war last year. He has not been able to finish it because we do not have any money left, so we are living in a small metal, tin shack. This summer, I spend time playing football with my friends. I am a fan of Real Madrid. When I grow up, I dream of becoming a famous player like Cristiano Ronaldo.”

© UNICEF/UNI189364/El Baba

Haneen, 14 years old, in Gaza City

“Today, I am participating with my mother, along with my girlfriends and their mothers, in a community initiative to make Eid cookies (‘Kaak’). We will distribute these cookies to families who lost their houses in Sheja’iyeh during the last war. Many children in my neighbourhood will witness their first Eid while homeless and poor. I hope these cookies will help to put a smile on their little faces. I lost my father during an Israeli incursion in 2005, and in 2014, I lost my house to an airstrike. I want to become a journalist, and I will do my first report on the electricity cuts in Gaza.”

© UNICEF/UNI189368/El Baba

Nora, 10 years old, in Rafah, southern Gaza Strip

“On the third day of Eid, I saw some children playing on a Ferris wheel set up near my house, and I heard them singing and shouting as it was rotating. I rushed to join them. When I was up in the air, I saw my destroyed house, which was hit by an airstrike. Some of the children were asking whose house that was. I did not say it was mine; I just kept playing and enjoying my time. My Eideyah (Eid allowance) was 15 NIS (US$3.00) this year; I spent four on the swing, and with the rest, I am going to buy a little doll so I can put her between my arms when I go to sleep every night.”

© UNICEF/UNI189092/El Baba

Karima, 17 years old, in Gaza City

“‘Love Not War’. These are the words written on the wall behind me. This is the message I wanted to deliver when I joined a community initiative to beautify this small public park in Gaza with lively colors. I am half Indian, from my mother’s side, but I was able to visit my grandparents in India only once, in 2007, due to the Gaza blockade. The most striking difference I found between India and Gaza is that, here, you will find people whose ultimate dream is to travel outside Gaza, whereas in India, most people do not think to leave — they live a ‘normal’ life with ‘normal’ dreams, like buying a new house. In India, they are always building and developing, while in Gaza, we are always re-repairing what has been destroyed, over and over again.”

--

--

UNICEF
Photography and social change

UNICEF saves children’s lives, defends their rights, and helps them fulfill their potential. We never give up. UNICEF, for every child.