For every girl, dignity

In Chad, the distribution of dignity kits is key to keeping girls in school.

Unicef CHAD
Photography and social change
3 min readJul 27, 2017

--

Since last outburst of violence in Central African Republic in 2013, 60,000 Central African returnees sought refuge in Southern Chad. Among them, 17,000 people are still living in the refugee camp of Danamadja where children can go to school. Yet, girls must overcome many obstacles to stay in school. The lack of sanitation facilities and basic hygienic supplies, such as sanitary pads, is one of the main reasons why girls drop-out of school.

UNICEF Chad/2017/Alliah

Saboule Ousmane, 17, Grade 4, Danamadja School.

“In the Central African Republic (CAR), I did not go to school. We are nomadic stockbreeders and we do not really mix with the rest of the returnees here in Chad, but in school we are all the same. I was given dignity kits and I am more confident when I am in class.”

UNICEF Chad/2017/Alliah

Badoul Idriss, 16, Grade 6 in Danamadja School.

“Before coming to Danamadja, I lived in Bangui, CAR, where I lost both my parents. I came here with my grandmother and my six brothers and sisters. Back then, when I had my period, I would not come to school because I did not feel comfortable. Now, I never miss one day.”

UNICEF Chad/2017/Alliah

Faozea Mahmout, 14 Grade 5, Danamadja School.

“It was hard for me to come to school when I had my period. When I went back home with the dignity kit, the girls from my neighborhood who had quit school wanted to go back.”

UNICEF Chad/2017/Alliah

Fadna Abakoura, 15, Grade 3 in Danamadja School.

“My parents do not really have the money to buy sanitary pads for me and my sister. Now, I can continue my studies without worrying. It is very precious to me.”

UNICEF Chad/2017/Alliah

Hawa Oumar, 15, Grade 5, in Danamadja School.

“I came here with my mother only. She braids hair to have a little money but it was not enough to buy soap or sanitary pads. The kits have given me the courage to come to school every day.”

UNICEF Chad/2017/Alliah

Hadikha Moussa, 18, Secondary School.

“I kept going to school even after I had a baby. When I am studying, my grandmother takes care of my child. Sanitary pads were not a priority in the expenses of our family. The dignity kits help me a lot.”

In 2017, thanks to the UN Central Emergency Relief Fund (CERF), UNICEF was able to distribute “dignity kits” to school girls living in refugee camps and returnees sites in Southern Chad. The kits include soap, bleach, water buckets, and sanitary pads to help them to pursue their education in the best conditions possible.

--

--