About

Lucas Gonze
Photos by Collin Gonze
1 min readSep 19, 2016

This blog is for the photos of Collin Gonze.

He was a passionate, and eventually excellent, photographer whose muse was his family. While his friend Lee Friedlander was revolutionizing street photography, my dad was pouring his creative energy into family photos, printing them by hand in a basement lab, and publishing them in albums with an edition of one.

He is my father. These are family photos. One of the children in these shots is me, long ago.

My father loved his art and took it very seriously, but had no ambition to make it as an artist, whatever that means. He never cared to arrange gallery shows or build a fanbase. The art was its own purpose.

And it’s good art. When friends or visitors see my dad’s photos they are struck. People go out of their way to comment on the family photos on my wall. My own eyes agree. This work is worth attention.

So I, with agreement from my father and brother (Josh Gonze), am making the work available for no other purpose than recognition.

These photos are freely available under a Creative Commons license, Atribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.) Anyone can use the photos I post in this publication for any purpose as long as they give credit to Collin Gonze. (But see the license for fine print).

You need no other permission. If I am not able to reply to an email asking for permission, just go ahead.

You are welcome to contact me for additional services like higher-quality scans.

--

--