Photos of Collin

Lucas Gonze
Photos by Collin Gonze
2 min readNov 28, 2016

1973

With his books

My father is passionate about books. He had a bookstore, called The Bookrack, in Yellow Springs, OH in 1958–59. He remained a collector until recently.

This is a self-portrait. I’m not sure how he did this shot with his library and a picture frame. My guess is that it is two different negatives exposed onto the same piece of photo paper, a straightforward trick in an analog photo lab.

1972–73

Self portrait in professional clothes.

1974

At 46, younger in this beach shot than I am now.

1969–70

I don’t know whether this is a self-portrait. It’s possible he did it on a timer.

1968–69

Collin Gonze 1968–69

I doubt my dad shot these two photos above. They’re not his style and it would have been hard to shoot them.

These photos are freely available under a Creative Commons license, Atribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.) Anyone can use the photos I post in this publication for any purpose as long as they give credit to Collin Gonze. (But see the license for fine print).

You need no other permission. If I am not able to reply to an email asking for permission, just go ahead. If you do want any help email lucas@gonze.com.

--

--