James Costa
Phuse
Published in
3 min readNov 29, 2017

--

My friends, my family, our legacy. (For the record, Shafeez is wearing shorts.)

I started Phuse with the idea that business needed to look different in the digital age. Not realizing what we were creating, our experiment pushed the boundaries of the web, business, and culture. As we close, I look back at everything we’ve accomplished with tears in my eyes, and love in my heart.

Over the years, we iterated on business the same way we did product, but the fundamental tenets of our team became difficult to sustain as we grew. Our team grappled with the difficulties of being small, while not being able to overcome what growth required. The decision was multidimensional and spanned personal and operational reasons, but remains consistent with who we are and I’m proud of it not being one that was forced on us.

Over 9 years, we fought for a lot. We fought for distributed work before it was popular, and intentionally created an environment that thrived despite having a team spanning 4+ countries and timezones. We fought to maintain a balance of diversity not because it was cool, but because that’s what happens when you remove barriers and treat people well. We fought for transparency and the opportunity to build a company that we could all be proud of. We fought alongside each other to build incredible experiences that have touched millions of people. We kept our word, and did damn good work.

I’m proud of the team we built: authentic, collaborative, and transparent people who have heart. I’ve learned something from each of the 50+ Phuse alumni; Larissa taught me to stand up for myself, Naomi taught me the importance of details, Emma taught me to understand perspective, Alex taught me to take a chance on people, Jenna taught me about the importance of personal growth, Robyn taught me to not give up on what you believe in, Leigh taught me what loving what you do looks like, Tessa taught me to never settle, and Jonathan taught me about balance.

In particular, our graduating class helped shape our legacy through their hard work, selflessness, and care. I’d like to thank Murray, Kelley, Derek, Leigh, Karmon, Shafeez, Naomi, Robyn, Larissa, Christie, and Kurtis for displaying a level of grace beyond anything I could have ever expected.

I remain an advocate for remote work and the opportunity that small agencies have to make a big impact, and am excited for the opportunity to share my experiences over time through my newsletter, speaking, and over coffee.

As we close out nearly a decade of incredible work, relationships, and learning, I’m sad to not be working alongside my friends anymore, but am honored by the legacy we leave behind. I’d do it all over again if I could.

Onwards, friends.

✌️+❤️

Credits

I’m incredibly grateful for everyone who has helped me along this journey. First and foremost, I want to thank every Phuser, alumni, and client who we’ve had the opportunity to work with: you truly made my dream a reality. CBQ for believing in me and convincing me of my value. Carl, for all our chats that helped me understand what the hell I was doing. Sherwin for being an incredible client, mentor, and cheerleader for all we did. Ronan, for pushing me to go for it.

Satish, Mark, Paul, Chris, Dom, Andrés, Samaneh, and the whole Toronto Agency Owner community for answering frantic phone calls, texts, emails, and always making time for me — I’m so lucky to call y’all peers and friends. Mike Consul, for helping me buy my first MacBook. Matt Herron for never wavering in support for many hard-fought years, and being there when I launched the first website. Matt Felten for being the first Phuser, and for putting up with the craziness of those early days.

Mikey, for always helping me think about business differently. The Naature, deviantArt, and UX Booth communities for helping me realize my passion. My parents, family, and friends for their unconditional love, support, and belief. My brother Steve, for introducing me to tech and encouraging me on the journey. My wife Cristina, for pushing me to always be a better person. And finally, my little man Caleb, for giving me the reason to fight every day.

Thank you.

--

--

James Costa
Phuse
Writer for

Product @twg. Formerly @phuseca. Organizer of @SpaceAppsCanada, @SpaceAppsToronto, and the TO Agency Meetup. Partner @thepositivegear. Director @trekforteens.