Meet Stefania, Gaurav and Jacquita đź‘‹

As the Pi Labs ecosystem grows, so too does the demand for new roles within the team. We’re very excited to introduce you to Stefania (Partner), Gaurav (Financial Controller), and Jacquita (Office Assistant/EA to CEO).

Pi Labs
Pi Labs Insights
6 min readAug 17, 2022

--

New joiners picture
(L-R) Gaurav, Stefania and Jacquita at our new office in Soho 🧡

Stefania

Partner

Stefania, Partner at Pi Labs

What does your role at Pi Labs entail?

At Pi Labs, I have the exciting task of overseeing the VC firm’s growing portfolio, and ensuring portfolio company founders have the strategic, financial, and commercial support required to achieve global scale. Building an efficient and scalable portfolio management function that can allows us to continue to bring the value of our ecosystem to an increasing number of founders.

What were you doing before you joined Pi Labs?

I have spent my entire professional career working with entrepreneurs at different stages of their journey, from high-tech university incubators to exited entrepreneurs advising on how to reallocate their wealth across private and public market. I spent seven years at Coutts private bank advising UHNW clients globally on asset allocation and growth capital investment opportunities. More recently I led fintech investments at Downing Ventures and focused on strategic value-add support to founders as Portfolio Director for PembrokeVCT. I truly enjoy the energy I get from engaging with founders and building the long-term partnerships needed to build high-growth tech businesses.

Do you have any advice for anyone looking to get into the VC world?

Venture Capital is a multidisciplinary industry, meaning there is no one single path to enter. Building high-growth businesses requires a variety of skills and backing founders requires the ability to make risky decisions with incomplete information and to build long-term trusted relationship through the ups and downs of the business. My advice would be to understand clearly why you are interested in Venture Capital (beyond the hype around it) and identify what your USP is that you will eventually bring to the table as Board Director in your portfolio companies (Finance, technical, commercial, founder experience). Then nurture it and share it within the start-up community in whatever forms you can access.

Reading, watching, or listening to anything good?

Family, sport and the outdoors are my perfect recipe for unwinding. Outside of work, you will usually find me running, either marathons or behind my children. Spending time with my husband and two young children, making new discoveries together or simply enjoying playing and reading a good book (rigorously in Italian!) is a great way to recharge. And a good long run is an absolute daily must to clear and refocus my mind. I am also qualifying as a Pilates teacher, which helps me ensure I can focus on my mind and body which are essential to keep nurturing my passion for long-distance challenges.

Gaurav

Financial Controller

Gaurav, Financial Controller

What does your role at Pi Labs entail?

I recently joined the finance team at Pi Labs where I will be managing the finance and compliance obligations of the company, from investor and statutory reporting to supporting the financing of our investments. The role has a broad spectrum, working closely across all business departments and with external stakeholders to provide financial, operational and compliance support.

What were you doing before you joined Pi Labs?

Before joining Pi Labs, I was working at an infrastructure fund manager where I was responsible for two large government mandated funds, one investing into the next generation of essential digital infrastructure across the UK and the other investing in London’s sustainability sector helping to achieve London’s ambition of being a net zero carbon city by 2030. Prior to that I was part of a growing fund administrator with responsibility for a number of venture capital and private equity funds.

Do you have any advice for anyone looking to get into the VC world?

For me VC is all about providing exciting and innovate solutions to modern day problems. My advice would always be to look to take the Kaizen approach to life — always striving for continuous improvements on the basis that a few small ongoing positive changes will compound and eventually reap significant improvements! This is something that can be incorporated both in and outside of the office.

Reading, watching, or listening to anything good?

I’m currently watching Ozark on Netflix and intend to watch Silicon Valley once finished. I enjoy learning about history, and I’ve recently got into Sikh and Punjabi history (which is my cultural heritage) so I’m reading a few different articles and historic sources relating to that. I’m about to read Sovereign, Squire and Rebel which is a historic account of the last king of the Punjab.

What do you do to relax and create time for yourself?

I’m an avid gym-goer, I regularly lift weights and have recently got into cycling. In the past I have also trained in Muay Thai, a martial art originating from Thailand. I enjoy watching motorsports such as Formula 1 and World Rally Championship. Now that the world is coming out of the pandemic, I’m looking forward to travelling again. My favourite trip so far has been a road trip through the Canadian Rockies which was an amazing experience and I intend to visit again later this year.

Jacquita

Office Assistant / EA to CEO

What does your role at Pi Labs entail?

I recently joined Pi Labs as an Office Assistant/EA. My role includes managing the office (making sure its a happy home for our team!), being an EA to the CEO and assisting with events and the hiring/onboarding of new team members.

What were you doing before you joined Pi Labs?

I’ve had various roles across lots of different sectors, ranging from a manager at a Bikram yoga studio, to a forensic service provider, and most recently, a senior operations analyst for an investment management firm.

Do you have any advice for anyone looking to get into the VC world?

Being at the beginning of my VC journey myself, I would say immerse yourself into all things VC related; read books, listen to podcasts, and watch series’. And don’t be afraid to ask questions — asking lots of questions along the way will only help you understand more!

Reading, watching, or listening to anything good?

Reading: Why we Sleep by Matthew Waler and How to Kill your Family by Bella Mackie. Next on my list: Shoe Dog by Phil Knight and Fake History by Otto English.

Watching: I love to binge watch a good series, my current go-to’s are: Stranger Things, Ozark, Money Heist and The Lincoln Lawyer.

Listening: Rich Roll, My Therapist Ghosted Me, To Live and Die in LA and anything true crime related.

What do you do to relax and create time for yourself?

I love to exercise, dedicating time in your day just for yourself is so rewarding both mentally and physically. I’ve never regretted a workout, only the ones I haven’t done (so cliché I know). My dog is also another way for me to relax. Taking him for walks or curling up on the sofa watching a movie brings me so much joy and peace.

Interested in joining our team? Keep an eye on our social pages for updates on new and open roles đź’Ľ

And for more updates from the team and our portfolio, subscribe to our monthly newsletter ✉️

--

--

Pi Labs
Pi Labs Insights

Europe’s first VC platform investing exclusively in #proptech startups.