Escape

A poem

Iman
Pick Up Your Pen
1 min read6 days ago

--

Sweet cadence of the raindrops as they drizzle to the ground
Sharp inhale of earthy petrichor accompanying the sound
If I had known the hills beyond my home beheld a wondrous sight
I would throw caution to the wind and run away into the night
See the diamonds of the sky encompass vastly vivid lands
Howling winds sent from the seas embrace the course and gritty sands
Whispering trees form graceful arches, wind and grass are made to rhyme
Mother Nature seems to be the greatest poet of all time
I reside now in the tranquil woods, I left it all behind
But the stars will surely guide my soul to what it hopes to find
Now I see the stains of fire causing them to fall withdrawn
As the darkness slowly fades away to give in to the dawn
Slanting sunlight pooling gold matches the image in my head
Not the open grassy hills now, there are walls around instead
I’ve always found escaping far away appealing as a scheme
So till the day I meet myself alive, I’ll live it through my dreams.
-Iman

Photo by Javier Allegue Barros on Unsplash

--

--

Iman
Pick Up Your Pen

Reader, writer, introvert, poet, and strong supporter of Palestine. #freepalestine