Search For Hope

Taiwo Adeogun
Pick Up Your Pen
Published in
3 min readJul 5, 2024
Photo by saeed mhmdi on Unsplash

My search for hope
Led me to the light,
A step away from the night
That which is a veil
One that tightens my vein.

A race in the maze
From destination to no place,
Where I encounter the Man with no face.

Although afraid,
I appear unfazed
With the case
Even when I might have failed.

Hey!
You, mankind,
He roared with a voice so strong like a boar,
And I was afraid, so I bow.

You have found the light,
Take a pen and write
And all these you should recite…

Then I woke with a lot of fright,
With my muscles weak so much I couldn’t put up a fight.
What am I to recite?

Behind The Poem

The first stanza is a personal journey of seeking hope. The light vs night is hope vs despair. The veil that tightens my veins is the darkness/challenges that block my progress.

The second stanza is a sense of confusion and uncertainty (a race in the maze of destination to no place). The Man with no face is an undefined powerful entity, likely God. This is a biblical theme of meeting the divine, often depicted as a mysterious awe-inspiring presence. Despite the fear I appear unfazed, I am resilient and brave.

Hey!

You, mankind,

He roared with a voice so strong like a boar,

And I was afraid, so I bow.

This is the divine encounter. He roared with a voice so strong as a boar (biblical imagery of God’s voice, e.g. Revelation). I was afraid, I bowed. You have found the light,

Take a pen and write

And all these you should recite…

This is a command from the divine entity, like the biblical call to prophets/apostles to spread God’s word. Taking a pen and writing is like receiving and writing down divine revelation (gospels, prophetic writings). Recite is to share this hope and message with others.

Then I woke with a lot of fright,

With my muscles weak I couldn’t even fight.

What am I to recite?

The last stanza brings me back to reality, I woke with fright and weakness. What am I to recite? I am unsure of what to do with the command. This is the biblical theme of human frailty and the task of carrying out a divine mission.

Themes and Interpretation:

Hope and Despair: The poem is about the search for hope in darkness and challenges. The light vs night metaphor is hope vs despair.

Fear and Resilience: Despite fear and uncertainty the speaker is resilient. The Man with no face is the struggle to face and overcome fears.

Divine Encounter and Revelation: The poem uses biblical themes of encountering the sacred. The Man with no face and the roaring voice is God’s presence and power. Writing and reciting are like the prophets and apostles.

Power of Expression: Take a pen and write emphasizes the power of words and expression to capture and share hope. It’s the power of creativity and articulation.

Uncertainty and Continuation: What am I to recite? The search for hope and meaning is a continuous journey with no easy answers.

Overall:

It is a contemplative poem that uses metaphors, imagery, and biblical references to explore hope, fear, resilience, divine encounter, and the power of expression. Personal and universal, it will resonate with anyone who has been on the same journey of searching for meaning and hope. Biblical references add depth and layers to the poem.

--

--

Taiwo Adeogun
Pick Up Your Pen

Reader. Thinker. Researcher. Writer. Mental Health Advocate.