Emergency Affirmations I Launched Into While Dancing At The Club At 4 AM

Maggie Lalley
Pickle Fork
Published in
2 min readMay 31, 2018

I am still wearing all my clothes, save for my bra.
I do not think I have been drugged, but I am open to that possibility.

I am not afraid of the drugs I have ingested tonight.
I am a strong, independent lady, who can O.D. if she wants to.

As I ferociously dance, I do not need sexual validation from onlookers.
I dance for me, not for animalistic club goers.
But if I choose to dance for the pleasure of perverted oglers, that is my choice.

My tan, lean physique is immaculate in this mini skirt.
Just because I am in a mini skirt, does not make me a depraved oversexed fiend whore.
But if I choose to have unprotected sex with tonight’s DJ who is in town from Montreal, and want him to call me a depraved oversexed fiend whore during sex, that is my choice.

I am grateful for a night at the club with my girlfriends.
They have all disappeared, and I am just fine with that.
I love them all deeply, even though they abandoned me for free cocaine, I am guessing.
I am all alone on the soiled dance floor and I am loving it.

I am at the club for ME, and I am very grateful.

As I stumble toward the bar, I am still breathing.
I want a ninth cocktail, but I don’t need one.

I am going to get one, though.

I could enjoy this night sober if I wanted to, but I choose to be absolutely blacked out.
I am a strong, smart woman, and I can poison myself if I want to.

I am slumped over the bar, and I am not ashamed.

I have spilled my cocktail on my chest, and I accept that.
People are staring, and I am sending them love.
I have tripped and fallen over, and am now exposing my left breast.
I am crying on the ground, and that’s okay.
I am a strong, confident woman who is being carried out by security.
I am projectile vomiting in an ambulance, and I feel good.
I am strapped to a gurney and getting questioned by a cop, and I love myself.

I do this every weekend, and I feel great about it.

I choose to party, and I’m an inspiration.

I am just a sexy, independent woman, getting her stomach pumped.

I am not wearing any clothes.

I look beautiful naked.

I am grateful for hospitals.

I have thrown up on the doctor, and I feel great about it.

I don’t have health insurance, and it’s extremely freeing.

I have soiled my gurney and my hospital bed, and hey, that’s Friday night.

--

--

Maggie Lalley
Pickle Fork

Comedian. @magslals on insta and Twitter The Belladonna Comedy, Little Old Lady, McSweeney’s, Pickle Fork, Lady Pieces, and The Junction.