Help, I Think My Boss Is a Targaryen

Every day is a potential firing

David Caracciolo
Pickle Fork
3 min readMay 17, 2019

--

The first week on the job and my boss is already breathing down my neck.

Photo by Tim Gouw on Unsplash

They call her the dragon lady and it’s easy to see why. Every day she threatens to fire somebody! Today, it’s my turn.

Here are 5 reasons why I think my boss is a secret Targaryen…

1. She’s a Platinum Blonde

Not only that, she braids it too! Apparently, she’s had it this way long before it became a thing. I don’t know why she doesn’t hide it. She must love the attention more than keeping her secret.

2. She Likes It Hot

The thermostat in her office is always set on scorch. I’m feeling the burn now. Once, I made her a coffee and she screamed it wasn’t hot enough! I poured a new one straight out of the kettle and she downed it in seconds. She feels nothing.

3. She Has Her Own Throne

My boss is so repulsed by us, she installed her own private bathroom! One time, the common restrooms were clogged and she refused to share her throne! She’s in there now. I swear it sounds like dragons are coming out.

4. She Claims To Have Children

Yet there are no photos in her office to prove it, just pictures of cats! She insists she has three little monsters and she’s always racing home to feed them. If she doesn’t get there in time, they start eating the locals.

5. She’s Got a Mad Streak

You don’t want to see my boss when she’s angry. It’s deadly. She told me that a mad streak runs in her family and that if I ever disobey her… I’ll awaken the dragon. Yes, she told me that!

“The Queen will see you now,” announces the grey worm at the door. My boss exits the bathroom and sits on her other throne. I await my fate.

“Anna, I know you’re only new here, but your team leader thinks more than enough time has passed.”

Here it comes.

“We’d like you to join us for dinner at my place this weekend. What do you say?”

I’m shocked, “Um… I guess that would be okay.”

“Excellent, I’ll email the details. You may return to your desk.”

“Thank you.” I make for the door.

“Oh, I forgot to mention.”

I freeze.

“Nothing formal… it’s just a barbecue.”

Help me.

Photo by raquel raclette on Unsplash

--

--

David Caracciolo
Pickle Fork

I like big PUNS and I can not lie. You other writers can't deny