Let’s Revisit Cinema Etiquette Before This Film Becomes a Whodunnit

5 things to stop doing in the cinema

David Caracciolo
Pickle Fork
Published in
2 min readJun 20, 2019

--

Everyone knows you shouldn’t use your phone in the cinema. Not that anyone cares, we need to know if there’s a post-credits scene or when’s a good time to run to the toilet.

Fine, I can live with that. What I can’t deal with is…

1. Talking

Why is it that people can share the same bed, table, and the whole day together without saying a single word, but the moment they walk into a cinema they have to open their big mouths?

I don’t care if you talk during the trailers, they’re ads! However, once the actual movie starts, you need to take the Fifth and remain silent.

Have you seen the Quiet Place? Like that. Only instead of monsters, the only thing trying to kill you will be me.

2. Footsies

Your feet belong on the floor, not pressed against the back of my chair. Sometimes, I can’t tell. However, once you start moving, it’s like I’m getting a Shiatsu massage without my consent.

Also, your feet belong in your shoes. You know, the same shoes you walked in with? I know you think your feet don’t smell, but trust me they do. Nobody wants to smell your feettuccine alfresco.

3. Making a Mess

What’s wrong with people? Sure, I’ve left the cinema and forgotten about the box of popcorn under my seat a few times but I’ve never left the cinema looking like Chernobyl.

What happened? Seriously, did anyone actually eat anything here? It’s like they said, “Well, movies over, time to tip what’s left of my popcorn all over the back of my seat.”

4. Taking Other People’s Seats

If you happen to be in a cinema with allocated seating, make sure you sit in the seat that’s been allocated to you. This isn’t musical chairs!

Once one person takes the wrong seat, the person whose seat that belongs to now has to tell that person to move or find another seat that doesn’t belong to them. Can you see how that could be a problem?

5. Clapping

Stop clapping at the end of movies! There’s no one there to receive your adulation. It’s not like the cast and crew are waiting behind the curtain for a standing ovation.

What’s wrong with you? Same goes for booing. If you really want to clap, clap for this post!

Photo by Ezra Comeau-Jeffrey on Unsplash

Thanks for reading. For more things to stop doing…

--

--

David Caracciolo
Pickle Fork

I like big PUNS and I can not lie. You other writers can't deny