COMEDY

My Original August 4 Stand Up Routine: Eggplant Humor & More

From my year of living dangerously.

Ed Newman
Pickle Fork
Published in
2 min readOct 9, 2019

--

Photo by Charles 🇵🇭 on Unsplash

About a dozen years ago or so I did open mic stand-up here in Duluth for about 8 months. I quickly learned that one of the primary unwritten rules was that you create your own material.

In an effort to carve out my own schtick I began exploring the possibilities of Eggplant Humor. I mean, the eggplant itself is a bit of a strange critter, so it seemed to have possibilities. Most importantly, there was no one doing it, so it was uncharted territory.

My stage name was Eddie Danger, and here’s an excerpt from my August 4 set.

Here’s some great news. My son and his wife came home from California a couple weeks ago. I ran out to greet them, shouting, “My son is home, kill the fatted eggplant.” His wife is vegan.

I’ve been asked where the eggplant humor comes from. It’s not demented. It’s what you get when you cross ethnic jokes with lawyer jokes. It awakens the dormant genome within the structure of the lawyer joke DNA.

For this reason, my favorite eggplant joke is, “How many eggplants does it take to roof a house? A: It depends on how thin you slice them.”

--

--

Ed Newman
Pickle Fork

An avid reader who writes about arts, culture, literature & other life obsessions. @ennyman3 Look for my books on Amazon https://tinyurl.com/y3l9sfpj