My Overwhelming Day At Disney World As Told In Haiku

Liane Houseman
Pickle Fork
Published in
2 min readAug 6, 2018

Main Street, U.S.A.
Happiness is everywhere,
I want to vomit.

Photopass wants to
Take my picture and for some
Reason I scream “YAAAAAAS”.

“Who cares he’s too short!
Can’t you look the other way?”
Father of the year.

Space Mountain broke down-
I’m waiting for someone to
Get me the hell off.

This most magical
Place is so overwhelming.
Not sure I’ll survive.

Long line of children
And eight cut in front of me-
“Where are your mothers?”

Taking pictures with
Princess Elsa but my face
Looks like Chewbacca.

A very large group of
People stopped in front of me.
“WHY ARE WE STOPPING!?!?”

Mine Train wait time is
120 minutes,
And yet, here I am.

I dropped my popcorn-
The mess is incredible.
Imma run away.

Sudden rain pours down.
We cram in the gift shops like
A can of sardines.

They say it’s a great
Firework show, but the ash
Has blown in my eyes.

So many people.
Everywhere I look there’s just
So many people.

--

--