Questions to Ask Your Friends 5 Seconds Into the New Year

Maggie Lalley
Pickle Fork
Published in
3 min readDec 28, 2018

THREE, TWO, ONE!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

So, WHAT is your five year plan?

Do you think you´ll finally find love this year after being alone for seven years?

Do you plan on finding a new job this month, or do you think you´ll just stay in accounting even though you loathe your boss and environment?

Do you think you´ll stop acting?

Do you want a new apartment?

Do you want a new boyfriend?

Are you and your boyfriend going to get married this year?

Are you and your husband going to have kids?

Are you gonna try IVF?

Are you infertile?

Are you depressed?

What antidepressants are you on?

What is your therapist´s contact information?

Can she/he prescribe antidepressants?

Do I seem depressed?

Do you think I´m infertile?

THREE, TWO, ONE!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Do you think time is a construct?

Do you think we all live in a dream, and/or do you believe some of us could be robots?

Are you someone who dreams a lot/are you a robot?

Do you think that on some level the Matrix WAS real?

Do you think Keanu Reeves is attractive?

Do you think Keanu Reeves would like me if he met me?

THREE, TWO, ONE!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Do you believe in God?

Do you think Church is good or evil or kind of both?

Do you believe in the Devil?

Do you think we´re all ultimately at war with devils/demons within ourselves?

Do you think there might be demons in this room right now?

Do you think that even if there weren´t demons in this room, that our potential bad moods and fears about the future could incite a demonic uprising in this room right now?

Even if you aren´t on board with the whole demon thing, do you think this apartment is haunted?

THREE, TWO, ONE!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Do you think I look pretty?

Do you think that I think that you look pretty?

Did that kiss do anything for you?

Do you want to go to the bathroom?

Do you want to go to the bedroom?

Do you have any kinks?

Do you think I´m being too forward?

Do you like me?

How much do you like me?

Do you like these questions?

On a scale of 1 to 10 how much do you like these questions?

THREE, TWO, ONE!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

So how did your brother die?

Do you think he´s still alive in a way?

Do you think his death was kind of your fault?

Do you think you´re going to die young or old?

Do you think there is a heaven or a hell?

Do you think that dead people watch over us?

Do you believe in the power of mediums?

Were you sad when your grandmother died?

Do you sometimes feel you were responsible for your grandmother´s death and also for your brother´s death?

THREE, TWO, ONE!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Are you into networking?

Do you maybe wanna network with each other and maybe with others too?

Hey do you want my number?

Hey do you want to be friends on facebook?

Hey will you follow me?

On instagram, facebook, and twitter?

Follow for follow?

Would you like to collaborate?

Would you want to write with me?

Would you want to start a podcast with me?

Am I being to aggressive?

Well, what do you think of me?

Do you hate me?

Can you admit that you don´t like me?

You do like me?

Okay, do you wanna hang out this year?

Or maybe right now?

How about now for the hanging out?

--

--

Maggie Lalley
Pickle Fork

Comedian. @magslals on insta and Twitter The Belladonna Comedy, Little Old Lady, McSweeney’s, Pickle Fork, Lady Pieces, and The Junction.