The Lighter Side of Having 5 Kids — Part 2

Staying sane while raising 5 children can sometimes require large doses of humor. This is my second installment of this series.

Gina Karasek
Pickle Fork
4 min readJun 22, 2019

--

Luckily our children have made us laugh more times than I can count. Over the years, I’ve had multiple requests from my readers to share some of our mini-stories with others. Here are some of them from past years.

(Remember as you read to use the age-appropriate voices and pronunciations in your head — sometimes that’s the funniest part).

2012

My daughter (4 years old) came running into the kitchen.

Reagan: Where’s my letter? I need to take it to the post office!
Mom: What letter, Rea?
Reagan: I wrote a letter to Walmart telling them to give me 3 dolls.

© Reagan Karasek

*****

Reagan (4) came home from preschool one day and wanted to share something important that she’d learned.

Rea: Dad, I’ve got something to tell you.
Dad: What, Reagan?
Rea: Don’t ever be a potato couch!
Kelsey (13) : Rea, that would be a couch made out of potatoes!
Rea: I know! Look at the picture! See the potato?!

© Reagan Karasek

*****

© Gina Karasek

My husband took the boys for haircuts and a treat at Shaggies. The next morning, Andy (3 years old) said:

“Thank you, Dad, for letting me sleep with my haircut!”

Like we were gonna say “leave your haircut out here in the living room when you go to bed”…

*****

Trying out the shock factor:

Andy (3): I sure hope I don’t say poop!…..OOPS, I said it!
<…5 minutes later….>
Andy: I sure hope I don’t say poop again!….OOPS!

It was an accident, Mom, honest…

*****

Reagan (4) paused while drawing something…

Reagan: Daddy? What’s your favorite color?
Daddy: Blue.
Reagan: No. I think it’s red!

*****

https://barney.fandom.com/wiki/Barney

Reagan (4): Mom, I’m gonna sing Chris’s ABC song…A B C D E F G Barney is my enemy…
Andy (3): <with a know-it-all voice> Reagan — it’s EMENY!

Either way, you’re both right…

*****

As usual, we were at the restaurant just starting to eat and…

Andy (3): I have to go potty! I have to go potty!

Me: <sighing> ok, let’s go…

<in the stall>

© Hongqi Zhang

Andy: <pushes on walls of stall> There’s no way out! We’re stuck!

Me: Yeah, yeah…come here…

Andy: <looking at the flusher handle> Is it gonna be loud?

Me: No, it won’t…

Andy: Well, good thing I don’t have to go to the bathroom!

Me: Pardon me?!

Andy: Good thing I don’t have to go to the bathroom!

Me: You’re gonna at least try- I’m missing my dinner for this!

Andy: <crosses his legs and arms and proceeds to inch forward a teeny hop at a time…>

Me: <grabs Andy and puts him on the toilet>

Andy: <muttering> That’s all the faster I could go…

*****

More little boy potty talk:

Andy (3):<climbing off the toilet> I ate some food and it came out poop!

*****

A six-year-old taking the rules literally:

Chris: Mom, why does dad take his drink in the car even though it’s against the rules?
Me: Why do you say that?
Chris: When we leave McDonald’s he takes his pop with him in the car.
Me: Well, he doesn’t let you kids do that because you might spill, but it’s ok for him to.
Chris: But, Mom! What if the cops see him drinking it?! It’s against the law to drink and drive!

Sir, put down that Pepsi and exit your vehicle, now!

******

(See the first article in this series here : https://blog.usejournal.com/the-lighter-side-of-having-5-kids-17242cfd94a2)

--

--