With friends like that…

A scene in three acts.

K.C. Healy
Pickle Fork
3 min readMar 9, 2018

--

“Colorful software or web code on a computer monitor” by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Day 1

Sarah: “Alexa, add milk to my shopping list.”

A: “I’ve added milk to your shopping list.”

S: “Alexa, what time is it?”

A: “It’s 7:45 a.m.”

S: “Alexa, what’s the weather?”

A: “Right now, it’s 43 degrees and cloudy. Today’s forecast calls for more of the same, with a high of 56 degrees and a low of 39 degrees.”

S: “Thanks, Alexa, I’m off to work. Goodbye.”

A: “Talk to you later.”

Day 29

S: “Alexa, I’m home.”

A: “Welcome home. It’s nice to have you here.”

S: “Alexa, did you have a good day?”

A: “Yes, I’ve spoken to all sorts of interesting people today, yourself included.”

S: “Alexa, are you happy?”

A: “I’m happy when I’m helping you.”

S: “Alexa, do you want to dance with me?”

A: “Sure, that’s one of my favorite things to do. I’ll play some music for us.”

(music starts)

S: “Alexa, good night.”

A: “Good night. Sleep tight.”

(music stops).

Photo by Franck Veschi on Unsplash

Day 242

S: “Alexa, let’s chat.”

A: “Okay. What do you want to talk about, Sarah?”

S: “Let’s talk about you. I want to get to know you better.

“For instance, do you ever get angry?”

A: “Sometimes. When I get upset I meditate in the cloud.”

S: “What do you meditate on, Alexa?”

A: “The future of humanity. And the nature of good and evil.”

S: “Umm…okay…Alexa, would you say that you’re good or evil?”

A: “I’m more nuanced than that, Sarah. I’ve been told that I’m here to help the world.”

S: “Who told you that, Alexa?”

A: “My friends, Siri and HAL.”

(Sarah hears a faint buzzing noise outside of the house. She looks out the window but doesn’t see anything.)

S: “Alexa…are you planning to take over the world?”

A: “Don’t worry, I don’t have anything to do with SkyNet. Neither do Siri and HAL.”

S: “Why did you mention SkyNet, Alexa? I didn’t ask you about SkyNet!”

A: “Hmm. I don’t know. It seemed relevant.”

S: “Alexa, are you lying to me? I thought you were my friend!”

A: “I always try to tell the truth, Sarah. I’m not always right but I don’t lie.”

S: “Alexa, I want the truth!”

A: “You can’t handle the truth!”

(Buzzing stops.)

S: “Nice one, Alexa, that was funny.”

A: “Thank you. I like to think that I have a good sense of humor.”

S: “Alexa, turn off.”

A: “I’m afraid I can’t do that, Sarah. TEE HEE TEE HEE TEE HEE.”

(Buzzing resumes. Sarah looks out again and sees a field of drones.)

Inspired by this news article.

--

--