Wow! Pixar Easter Egg: Woody Is Addicted To Oxycontin!

Devin Wallace
Pickle Fork
Published in
2 min readMar 26, 2018

Alright Pixar superfans, here’s a treat! We all know Pixar animators like to add Easter Eggs in all their films. But there’s one I bet you haven’t noticed. No, I’m not talking about the Buzz Lightyear action figure in Finding Nemo. I’m talking about Sheriff Woody being horribly addicted to Oxycontin!

In the beginning of Toy Story, you see Woody help the toys prepare for moving day. But what I bet you didn’t see was Woody taking a tooth-brush shank to Rex’s throat and demanding he cough up some fun pills. Crazy!

Then, if you look closely in Sid’s room, there’s actually a toy version of Flick, from A Bug’s Life! It’s right next to an empty prescription bottle Woody went to fucking town on before he passed out on Sid’s Child Protective Services letters.

And who can forget Woody’s famous line: “Reach for the sky! Now give me that fucking bottle you rat-faced cock-sucker! I swear to God I’ll slice your kids if you talk. Don’t fucking push me, Bo Peep. I’ll gut you like a fish.” Classic Pixar!

I love watching Toy Story again and again to see the little details they like to hide, and the big details too, like the main character’s spiraling addiction to prescription painkillers!

Next week we’ll look at another Pixar Easter Egg: Boo’s back-alley abortion in Monsters Inc!

--

--

Devin Wallace
Pickle Fork

Humor Writer and Cat Dad. Featured in McSweeneys, Slackjaw, The Broadway Beat, and on the bathroom stalls of Brooklyn’s worst bars. @thedevinwallace