Draw your problem

Your hand, a pen and some paper are your greatest problem-solving tools

Pictal Health
Published in
9 min readJan 2, 2019

--

When I get stuck on something, a problem I can’t figure out how to solve, I tend to do things like ruminate on the problem, write down some words about it, have a [talking] meeting about it, maybe go for a walk in nature. I expect that with enough dedicated thought, I’ll figure things out.

I forget (again and again!) that one of the best tools available to me is drawing. Drawing benefits the brain in many ways, according to Cara Bean’s cute illustrated ‘Why Draw?’ booklet:

  • Drawing can instigate the development of critical thinking and problem-solving.
  • The act of drawing can stimulate positive brain chemistry like serotonin, endorphins, dopamine, and norepinephrine.
  • Drawing can reduce stress.
  • (references)

So drawing can reduce the stress of feeling stuck, help you get unstuck, and make you feel happier. I know this, so why do I keep forgetting to draw my problems? (I think the answer is this: too much screen time keeps me overly focused on using technology to address my

--

--

Pictal Health

Designer and researcher focusing on healthcare; founder of Pictal Health; autoimmune patient; chocolate-eater. katiemccurdy.com and pictalhealth.com