Piping for the Little People

Surprise on a walk in Golden Gate Park

Aikya Param
2 min readMar 4, 2021

--

“The_Black_Watch”_Statue_at_Forrest_Lodge_(Fred_Olsen’s_house)_-_geograph.org.uk from Wikimedia Commons

From 25th Avenue I went on my walk
On a day when magic and silver fog
Wrapped around the trees and I.

Bagpipe music led my eyes
To a man in kilt and plaid.
He played a tune for Little People
Who danced by the dozens at his feet.

It was an appointment for the man
To dress completely and bring his pipe
To play for the fairies and elves there.

Why I see these things or can
I often wonder and who to tell,
But then I’m not alone, am I?

The piper there must also see
The whirling dancers down below,
He must delight in their great glee
Or why wear Highland dress and blow
His pipe in a that grove for the elves and me?

Aikya Param is a licensed minister with Centers for Spiritual Living. She is always intrigued by the mysteries and surprises of life. She has a master’s in Women’s Spirituality from New College of California. For more by Aikya, click here.

--

--

Aikya Param

Rev. Aikya Param is a minister at Oakland Center for Spiritual Living in Oakland, California, a published author and visual artist.