Makeup: The Pros and Cons

Lauren Thompson
Piece of string
Published in
4 min readMar 4, 2016
Looking too long at my arsenal of makeup supplies can make me introspective, apparently. (Photo credit: Lauren Thompson)

Makeup brings endless possibilities. I can use foundation or powder to even out my color. I can use eye makeup to highlight my favorite feature. A touch of lipstick can brighten up my smile.

When I was young, I never wore much makeup, save for cover up and occasionally mascara. Frankly, it was because I was lazy; I did not want to invest the time nor the money required to do my makeup every day.

Secretly, I also sometimes liked being “the girl who doesn’t really wear makeup.” For someone without a single rebellious bone in her body, not wearing makeup was the closest I ever got to “sticking it to the man.” When many girls start wearing makeup at age 14 or younger, not wearing much of it at 17 or 18 years old made me feel different.

But something changed when I entered my twenties. What had started out as a fun way to waste my time on Pinterest later turned into hours of watching makeup tutorials and purchasing a monthly beauty box subscription. Somewhere down the line, I took the plunge into makeup-wearing life. I haven’t turned back.

On some days, when I’m rushing to get ready and hopelessly rummaging through my overly full makeup bag, I sometimes wonder if I’ve gone too far.

Every time I pull product after product out of my bag and notice just how many of them I never even touch, I start to wonder how much money I waste just to get ready in the morning.

The cosmetic industry in the United States is projected to make over $62 billion this year alone. According to a study done by Mint.com in 2013, a woman spends an average of $15,000 on makeup over the course of her life.

My beauty habits contribute a meager amount to that number. I spend $20 a month on my beauty box subscription. While Birchbox and Ipsy are both cheaper than my preferred brand, my monthly box comes with full-size products that last me months. So beyond my subscription, I probably only spend an additional $10 a month (or less) on cosmetics, for a grand total of roughly $30 a month total spent on makeup.

The math works out to $360 a year. If my spending habits stay the same, it will take me 41 more years (until I am 63 years old) to hit the $15,000 lifetime average.

All things considered, I think it’s probably safe to say that my overall financial wellbeing is not at risk due to my makeup consumption. I have not crossed the line to financial distress.

But what about my emotional distress?

Since I started wearing makeup regularly, I’ve noticed myself going without makeup far less often. I’ve also noticed myself wondering if people are looking at me differently when I do not have makeup on compared to when I do.

Study after study shows how the media can affect a woman’s body image. Extreme social media trends have centered on girls trying to replicate a particular look (remember the Kylie Jenner challenge?). The effect of media on people’s self esteem is such an established fact about our society that brands are now trying to combat these negative messages through their advertising.

The media affects how women see themselves. It would be silly of me to think I am an exception.

But it is a little harder to see how makeup in particular contributes to that trend.

So when it comes to my makeup choices, do my worries have merit?

A Harvard study found that women who wore a little bit of makeup were perceived better by their peers, but that women who wore too much makeup were seen as less trustworthy. Based on this study, my observations on how people treat me with and without makeup makes sense.

However, my newfound love of cosmetics is not without its benefits. The Harvard study also found that some women actually become more confident when wearing makeup. I have definitely felt this confidence boost in my own life.

There’s also an entire sect of modern feminism that promotes the idea of makeup as an empowerment tool. Red lipstick has been a symbol of female empowerment since the early 20th century, and was even marketed a symbol of solidarity during World War II.

Personally, I have felt the empowering effect of makeup. When I get ready for an evening out with friends or family, I use the time I do my makeup for self-reflection. I put on my favorite song, select my favorite shades, and spend time pampering myself. This gives me a strong self-esteem boost, and I leave my makeup counter with my head held high.

In a world where media can make me feel self-conscious, makeup makes me feel like I am in full control. When I do my makeup, I get to pick and chose what I like — no one else can decide it for me. I get to decide what is beautiful.

While makeup may symbolize insecurity for some, it can also symbolize respect and empowerment. It can a symbol of beauty, perfectly crafted by the user — and for the user.

--

--