For Paulie

D.E.Thomas
Pieces of Me
Published in
2 min readSep 15, 2014

--

The Instant Picker-Upper

“…each hour, each minute, each second could have something to offer. Something beautiful and astounding…” [1]

[As read during memorial.]

To have known Paulie at all during University was to know a man who laughed. I daresay there wasn’t a more humourful one amongst our lot.

I remember once having to distinguish him in a conversation with Kelly by saying “No, not that one. Our Paul — the one with the braying donkey laugh you can hear clear across the campus all hours of the day or night.” She immediately knew of whom I spoke. In our years as friends together, Kells came to call him “the instant picker-upper.” In fact, I wager they’re having a laugh right now and wherever they are is brighter for it.

To those of you here today who were there for Paul in his time of need, I remain in humble awe of the love you hold for him, and I wish for that love to bind you now to the memories you have; may they bring you comfort in the uncharted waters ahead of you.

I, for one, will remember his laugh, and I will smile often for having known the man and the life he lived well.

[1] From The Angriest Man in Brooklyn.

--

--