Gaylord’s

Tessa Gregory
Piedmont Coffee Quest
2 min readMar 29, 2017

Coffee price: $2.15

My current job allows me to work from home a couple times a week, which is great for exploring coffee shops on Piedmont!

Great place to sit and get some work done!

Today I hit up Gaylord’s for a latte and a delicious pastry thing that I don’t recall the name of. I also decided I’d get some work done while I was enjoying my coffee and the location, bringing my laptop along for the ride.

I’ve got a research article up on my screen, today’s press release for a paper that’s coming out a couple weeks from now. I would tell you more, but, I don’t want to break my own embargo. Just know that it’s on genetics in corn and how that links to historical events, so not a particularly sexy subject this time around.

Never underestimate the hydrating power of this drink on a warm Spring day

I will say that the people-watching at Gaylord’s is great, if you’re into that sort of thing. There were a few students, for sure, and also a group of three older folks sitting around a table talking about the book one of them was working on. Every so often, someone would sit at one of the old school arcade game tables and I’d hear the digitized Pac Man music start playing. There weren’t too many people on laptops like I was — the man sitting next to me was drawing a cool ink design in a weathered sketch book, and a young woman across the cafe was reading an actual newspaper. I didn’t realize how unaccustomed I am to seeing print newspapers until I saw her pull one of those out of her shoulder bag.

You might wonder how I managed to get anything done with all of these distractions, well, I finished my press release in a couple hours and even had some time to walk around and enjoy some of the sunshine on this beautiful day in Oakland. In fact, I ended up returning in the afternoon for an herbal hydrator, one of my personal favorite Gaylord’s beverages. Sometimes, some healthy distraction is just what you need to get the job done.

--

--