Tessa Gregory
Piedmont Coffee Quest
2 min readJun 10, 2017

--

Piedmont Cafe

Coffee Price $1.35

I had one of those mornings where I woke up craving a bagel sandwich. This is surprisingly not a common occurrence for me to have a strong desire for a specific kind of food, so in this case I listened to my stomach and texted Adri (we were both still in bed) about satisfying this craving.

This isn’t the first time the bagel sandwich has come to my rescue

I remember the days when I was living at home after college, and I’d visit my friends at the Upper Glen on Piedmont Avenue. We’d go to fancy brunch then — Homestead, Boot and Shoe, Mama’s Royal Cafe. Now that I’ve gone from weekend visitor to roommate at the Upper Glen, our choices tend to have shifted toward places that are less expensive and less of a wait. One of those choices is the Piedmont Cafe.

A possible explanation for my sudden craving for carbs is the dancehall workshop that Adri and I have been taking this month. For those who don’t know, dancehall is a style of Jamaican street dancing that largely originated in the 1970s and was mostly a male-dominated form of expression until more recent years where women started to invent steps. We learn some of the steps (called “stylish moves”) our wonderful instructor and friend, Libby Miga, learned in Jamaica. We already take her dance party class every Tuesday, so adding a Wednesday dancehall workshop adds up to a lot of dancing and a need to refuel!

Fun nights require refueling in the morning!

Sometimes you just need someone to keep refilling your coffee cup, as well, which is one of my favorite aspects of diners. Your one cup of coffee becomes a few in a matter of time. Thanks, Piedmont Cafe, for being that reliable stand-by that we need on our street for post-late night and post-busy dancing week mornings!

Give me coffee!

--

--