Wrath of the Chimera

Pierre Roustan
Pierre Roustan
Published in
2 min readMar 17, 2020

A Legendary Poem of the Divine Covenant

They say fear is the oldest and strongest emotion of man. True.
They also say the strongest fear is of the unknown,
But I shall take that one step further and say —
We fear of nothing the most, you see?

Illusions. Fabrications. Manifestations. An infestation
Splintering your mind into shattered glass,
Like little mirrors reflecting a different demon within you
As the tortured, tired and tainted host of mortality.

We think they’re tearing our skins off to wear
Like new suits, going into the office with joker smiles,
And slick styles, the wiles of a coyote and Acme,
Let me hate me more than sexual insanity -

It’s a ruse. A mystery. We’re simply padded in a white room,
Clawing with imaginary talons into our eye sockets,
Punctured deep like rockets into space, and my face
Becomes blank as the unholy deals death to serenity.

But this isn’t any ordinary demon possession. No. The obsession,
The mentality automatically stating that your soul becomes a slave
Is untrue in this case with the chimera’s infection,
No protection remaining to keep me free.

Rather…. My soul becomes the Hell I fear,
No clear direction, or unknown, of a monster staring at you.
And why do you think there are no mirrors in a padded room?
So we’re unable to see the true enemy -

And, sadly, that enemy, that monster, is me.

Originally published at https://medium.com on March 17, 2020.

--

--