Reputation management, motion design and hearing care group with Johan Calmon.

Pierre Stefan
Pierre STEFAN
Published in
4 min readAug 11, 2019

Short interview with Johan Calmon, director of a french communication agency in Toulouse called BOOM.

  1. How do you define the identity of the agency Boom ?

BOOM is defined as a creative agency, we strive to give the most suitable solutions to our customers, respecting their constraints (budget, time etc). Our desire is to position them as an original media with a design or a function.

2 . Was it difficult to create this agency? How were your beginnings ?

For my part, BOOM is my second project. My first, which was the result of an association, ended in failure. So I quickly launched BOOM according to my point of view and in respect with my method of work. I did not encounter any difficulties during my launch, I have a good reputation, maintained by my clients, on the quality of my services and my involvement in their company and projects.

I am a graphic designer, a self-taught motion designer and a graduate in multimedia communication (Master II) which allows me to easily design strategies and materialize them.

Design for Richard Orlinski’s single “Paradise”.

3. For the creation of the websites how do you work as a team ? What is your creative process ? Which collaboration tools do you use?

In website creation, our process is very simple. A first meeting will clarify the expectations of the client on the modules that will form the website. Once the guideline is defined, we establish an intent model and set the timelines for the schedule. We make regular points with the client to validate progress step by step. Our collaboration tools are vast: Slack, Teamviewer, Google G etc.

A standard web site.

4 . How invested are you in UX design? Are you going to seek for statistics? Tests ?

We are not really invested in UX. We usually provide fairly standard web interfaces to our customers. As soon as the needs are beyond our capacity we deal with a specialized web agency.

5. What is the place of motion design in your work ?

BOOM is built on my motion designer position. I had the chance to be selected in the top 100 motion designer in 2011 (on Blog webdesign) it allowed me to generate a lot of contacts and assert my know-how at the time when motion design was not widespread, especially in the regions. Today I do motion design almost daily, I also teach the discipline at ESMA Toulouse.

BOOM agency is also making packaging design…
and photographies.

6 . Who are your customers ? What kind of websites do you make?

Our customers are very different. We work with both big companies and start’ups. The sites we generate most often are showcase websites with Wordpress.

7. How do you perceive web design in the future? What are the new issues to solve?

I have a rather pessimistic view of the future of websites, I think the behavior of people on the web has changed completely since the advent of social networks. We engage many of our customers to maximize their presence on the social medias, while maintaining visibility on their own site. But according to our returns, many people who are looking for a company on the web, just take the info on a Google My Business page for example.

From this, our problems are therefore focused on reputation management. For example, we are working with a audioprosthetist group in the Occitanie region, this represents about twenty centers to manage and Google reviews are a great way to drain visitors or making contact.

A website for a hearing care group.

In practice, it is a monumental thorough work, it goes from the shooting in the centers and the proposal of beautiful visuals for potential customers, to the following-up of claims or management of the conflicts when the customers are not satisfied by giving a negative opinion because they did not have a good experience.

Some links :

--

--