Thoughts of a Mom in the School Pick-up Line

Am I parked weirdly? Is my taillight broken? I should’ve gotten the car washed…

Aparna Ram-Chintalapudi
PifflePie
2 min readApr 12, 2024

--

Cars lined up: Canva image

Oh good, looks like I got here early today. Wait, how are there eight cars ahead of me?? My god, have these people been sitting here since drop-off time?!

The lady behind me is staring. Should I wave? No, don’t wave, that would be stupid. Why is she staring? Am I parked weirdly? Is my taillight broken? I should’ve gotten the car washed.

Oh never mind, she’s looking in the rearview mirror at her eyelashes. How is she so put together? Most days, I look like a Category 4 hurricane threw up on me.

[Phone] Trending dance video. MAKE $1 MILLION WITH THIS SIDE HUSTLE. Did you know there are vegetarian spiders? Scene from 90s sitcom. How to organize your closet with your old Amazon boxes. Aww, kittens! Oven cleaning hac…

Oh no, did I leave the oven on?? Wait, did I put the baking tray in there at all?

HONK!

Hey! Eyelashes lady, yeah, I see the line is moving, I’m moving, I’m moving, jeez. I don’t care if you drive a Tesla, you got no chill.

Okay, where’s my kid, where’s my kid? Ah, there she is, hi sweetie! What’s she carrying? A huge poster board? Oh god, not another project for the weekend?

I’d better get an A on this one.

--

--