How Capitalism Makes Us Selfish

Constant competition normalizes appropriation and exploitation

Jillian Enright
Pigeon’s Peculiarities

--

Image created by author on Canva

Brief disclaimer

This is the second of a multi-part article series based on a paper I originally wrote for a University rhetoric course. If you missed my previous piece, I recommend reading it first.

I broke my (very long) paper into sections and made edits to make it easier to read, so I hope you enjoy.

Linguistic appropriation and exploitation

My last article outlined a specific incident of ongoing linguistic appropriation and exploitation by a young, hearing social media (micro)influencer.

I focused on this particular case because of the significant attention it has received over the past two years, and because it is ongoing. However, Lola is most certainly not alone.

There are many similar cases involving hearing people appropriating sign language for personal gain. There have even been cases of people pretending to be professional interpreters for significant events, such as the memorial honouring Nelson Mandela, and a televised police press conference.

What I seek to understand is why.

Appropriation of ASL on social media

--

--

Jillian Enright
Pigeon’s Peculiarities

She/they. Neurodivergent, 20+ yrs SW & Psych. experience. I write about mental health, neurodiversity, education, and parenting. Founder of Neurodiversity MB.