Medium Needs To Pay Its Writers More

We make this platform what it is, but do not reap the benefits of our hard work

Jillian Enright
Pigeon’s Peculiarities

--

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

August 2023 Update

1 1/2 years later…

I’ve now been writing on Medium for more than two years. As of today (August 8, 2023) I’ve published exactly 500 stories. I write nearly every day and get very positive feedback about my work. I share my work on social media.

I now have nearly 27K followers and my writing gets over 33K views daily. I’m still only earning about $11/day. This is not sustainable. I cannot put this many hours and this much effort into my writing for the cost of a fancy, over-priced coffee.

Gratitude

I am grateful for this community and to Medium for providing a venue for all of us to share our writing.

I have learned a lot over the past eight or so months I’ve been reading and writing here, and I plan to continue doing so, but I have concerns.

--

--

Jillian Enright
Pigeon’s Peculiarities

She/they. Neurodivergent, 20+ yrs SW & Psych. experience. I write about mental health, neurodiversity, education, and parenting. Founder of Neurodiversity MB.