University of Winnipeg Leadership Weak on Palestine

Civil disobedience is a form of peaceful protest

Jillian Enright
Pigeon’s Peculiarities

--

Stock photo from Canva

Positive update

While UW “leadership” (namely the Vice-Chancellor and President, Dr. Todd Mondor) has issued thinly veiled threats of police action against the peaceful protestors who are exercising their legal right to free speech, UW faculty have stepped up to the plate.

The UW Indigenous faculty sent an open letter to the UW Community in support of the encampment, and the faculty wrote an open letter to Dr. Mondor expressing their support for the protestors, urging Dr. Mondor to listen to their demands and negotiate with them in good faith.

Despite the Vice-Chancellor’s very weak and ill-advised response, UW faculty are rallying behind the protestors to show their support and solidarity. ❤

I was trying to stay in my lane

I’ve been relatively quiet on the issues happening in Gaza and across Palestine. This is not because I’m worried about controversy, anyone who reads my work will know I am not afraid of speaking my mind.

That is, when I feel well informed on the subject.

As the horrors happening overseas have been increasingly brought to the forefront, I’ve been…

--

--

Jillian Enright
Pigeon’s Peculiarities

She/they. Neurodivergent, 20+ yrs SW & Psych. experience. I write about mental health, neurodiversity, education, and parenting. Founder of Neurodiversity MB.