We’re Not Stranded!

Days 3 and 4 of our Cross-Canada (Mis)adventures

Jillian Enright
Pigeon’s Peculiarities

--

Created by author

A brief update: Things never go as planned

I left off my last story with my family and I essentially stranded on the side of the highway in the middle of nowhere.

Our dealership really messed up when they changed out my tires and the lug nuts on one of the wheels had not been tightened properly, leading to one of them actually getting sawed off by the unstable hubcap as we drove at high speeds.

We are fortunate it was a mere inconvenience and didn’t result in anyone getting seriously hurt. My dealership has definitely heard from me, more on that later.

I would like to make a suggestion, however. Those who work as call-takers at roadside assistance agencies should really have a basic knowledge of vehicles. I mean, the truly basic fundamentals. The first person we spoke to didn’t even know what a lug nut was, and when we said one was missing, he thought we meant one of our tires was missing.

How would that work, exactly? We’re driving down the highway and one of our tires just disappears? It’s not as though we were calling from a parking lot, we had explained we were on the side of a highway.

--

--

Jillian Enright
Pigeon’s Peculiarities

She/they. Neurodivergent, 20+ yrs SW & Psych. experience. I write about mental health, neurodiversity, education, and parenting. Founder of Neurodiversity MB.