So I kinda forgot about posting my rant here 2 years ago, here’s an update!

Jessenth Ebenezer
Pilgrimages
Published in
5 min readNov 12, 2020

Origin story of the @pilgrimages publication on Medium

Ladies and Gentlemen, this is as meta as it gets!

If you’re someone who stumbled upon this article/story/whatever you wanna call it and you have no clue whatsoever about what’s happening, let’s go on a refresher that nobody asked for.

So two years ago, my frustrated sixteen year old self was kinda pissed about the sheer unfairness of how stuff works in general and especially about how we were all forced to study things we had no interest in just to get to learn about our interests later on, I’m a little rusty with writing, seeing that it’s been forever but a few notable things happened this week and that is why I’m blabbering something here, I digress. If you have enough time to go to my profile to check out a couple articles I wrote ranting about the Indian education system and the rat race of competitive exams and the motivating industry behind it, you’ll probably get an idea.

Statistics of the last 28 days
Not so stonks but still surprising indeed

On second thought, I actually want to delete those mostly because it was hella cringy to be honest. (16 year old me would have shut up if he knew how I’d turn out a little over two years down the line)

Anyhow, surprisingly enough, in the last couple years, I have actually managed to reach over fifteen thousand views on them stories and there are real people who actually reached out with their thoughts and I guess there is indeed something to this platform after all, albeit the minuscule view count, relatively speaking, compared to spaces like Towards Data Science (which pops up in my mobile browser’s recommended articles section for some reason, nice job Google.) I guess this can truly be a good outlet for me to voice whatever I have on my mind.

This is how I actually look like now :D

Coming back to the present, it’s the 9th of November today (I notice its 9/11 in the British format, very auspicious indeed) and I’m sitting here in my dim lit hall, the clock reads 3.07am and my procrastinating ass has finally decided to get this done away with so, let’s begin. I’ll go back step by step, starting from the present and moving towards the long term or whatever you’d call that, also here’s a small thank you if you made it this far, this is a long intro for sure, but yeah coming down to it, I am not writing this for people to read. I know they will, one day.

a random pic i got off insta in my account that works, of college. major missing

So I have 3 CS Projects that I’m working on at the moment, and reviews that I would have to be doing this week, the earliest being 5 hours from now, for the Sentiment Analysis project in my Software Engineering course. You might have concluded by now that I eventually ended up doing what I wanted a couple years back, so yeah. I’m an undergrad, a sophomore at VIT University, Chennai, majoring in Computer Science and trust me I couldn’t have been happier in any other college in this country. Like I always said, I couldn’t fare long studying things I didn’t want to to get into the college I wanted to and I managed to fulfill my dream anyway so, you could say that ended pretty well for me.

College life, especially during quarantine has been suuuuper hectic (can’t stress it enough, pun unintended) and I’ve had some setbacks and also my lazy self didn’t help it and I am now in a situation where I might majorly F up my third semester but let’s see how that goes. Freshman year was wonderful to be honest, everything was more than I expected and both academically and otherwise, I pretty much had a great time, publishing a scientific research paper in my very first semester (something kinda unheard of in general) and establishing my music career (this is gonna be a huge surprise for those of you who bothered to follow me after my older stories)

My profile on ResearchGate, who woulda thought lol, 17 year old with a published journal paper

Other things include trying my hand at delegating in a Model United Nations (mixed feelings), forming relationships, trying out new things and most importantly, PARTYING A LOT. 2020 was so dramatically life changing that it deserves an article on its own, probably my next thing to write about so anyway, bringing you up to speed, Instagram “disabled” (read “permanently banned”) both my personal and music accounts for undisclosed reasons yesterday and I’ve been pretty bummed out about it, mainly due to the years and years of memories it holds, I’ve appealed though, fingers crossed for that. I couldn’t sleep and I was pondering over doing something that would change my mundane and stressful routine for just a while and would also not end up as just another waste of time, so I decided to write.

So I kinda got full on into music production as I anticipated and I’m also India’s fastest growing upcoming producer, maybe next story will be about this journey

What do I write about? This was the next part of this 2am train of thought, and I followed that up with, well, something that might sound, I don’t know, narcissistic? Probably, but I am going to write about my life. I actually have a very very diverse range of interests and experiences and I’m pretty sure it’s worth writing about, if anything, to just keep a public journal of sorts. I’m just going to write everything on here, early life, things I like, my thoughts on stuff, pop culture and whatnot. This first article is a culmination of all that I’ve thought of doing and is a prologue of sorts for what’s to come.

Alright it’s 3.30am right now and I should probably try to get some sleep, I am not sure if I should write more for this first article but oh well, there’s still some formatting to do so this doesn’t look like a giant wall of text that drives people away. I’m signing off for now.

13th of November, 3.28am and I’ve set up a publication for this new journey of mine, aptly titled Pilgrimages. I guess this is a start. Quick update, I started a third, private Instagram account only for my close inner circle only to see it getting banned as well, I appealed and got back my main account and it got banned yet again and I literally YELLED at Facebook (in caps) in an email and got it back, working to get back my third account now and installing probably one of the best video games ever made. Time flies.

--

--