Meet: Hadley Stork, 18 Havas Los Angeles

Innovation is the heart of everything

Havas X Envision
Pillow Talks
2 min readMar 22, 2017

--

“Though voice tech is already on the market, there is so much that can be done with it. The way we interact with it is nowhere near finished because it is still highly unnatural.”

Where do you come from and how did you end up working at 18?

Hadley Stork

I’m a native Angeleno, born and raised in LA. I grew up surrounded by friends and family in the entertainment industry. My background is actually in Linguistics.

I began my career in tech working on natural language processing in Silicon Valley. Then, I returned to LA and began working in media research and strategy in the entertainment industry. Before I joined 18, I worked as a brand consultant in media education. I joined 18 because innovation is the heart of everything, and I love to be at the forefront of everything.

What’s the most exciting innovation on the market now? What is defining the next 18 months to you?

As a linguist, I think I would have to say voice tech. Though voice tech is already on the market, there is so much that can be done with it. The way we interact with it is nowhere near finished because it is still highly unnatural. Another interesting development is that voice is the new interface, meaning that it has the potential to become the new homescreen. Instead of just using Alexa to open an app, which takes you to a main screen, it will be able to launch right into whatever you want, like a TV show on Netflix.

What’s a great example of innovative marketing in your opinion?

Deadpool definitely has my vote. The sheer variety of platforms they used was creative, but the original content and way they marketed the film was extremely innovative. They used traditional methods of billboards and posters, albeit with a level of sassiness that was unconventional, and even created a rivalry between Deadpool and Wolverine, two fictional characters in different franchises. But they also took part in large social media and internet campaigns where the character of Deadpool promoted the movie. Deadpool had fake clickbait on Facebook, the Deadpool character a Tinder account, and custom emojis were made for the movie.

What’s your favorite TV series, movie, video game, or music?

My favorite TV series is Avatar: The Last Airbender. It is a fantasy/action series about nations that have been at war for over 100 years. It’s an animated series that takes storytelling to new heights. Don’t confuse it with the movie!

My favorite movie is Singin’ in the Rain. It’s all about classical Hollywood and what happens before and behind the camera.

--

--

Havas X Envision
Pillow Talks

Havas X Envision is Havas Group's innovation research facility that empowers brands to connect with consumers. http://www.18havas.io