9th Grader on Varsity Volleyball

Michael Sunderland
Pilot Island
Published in
2 min readOct 18, 2023

Written by Cordy F. ‘27

Photo courtesy of Hannah Niu ’27 permission given.

Most high school athletes’ dream is to make it on varsity, a spot usually reserved for juniors and seniors. But what would it be like if you made it on varsity during freshman year? I interviewed Hannah Niu, SJND women’s varsity team’s sole freshman player, to get insight on her experience.

Q: How does it feel to be a freshman on the varsity team?

A: It’s definitely a privilege. It was a little daunting at first […] but now I’ve gotten kind of used to it now that we’ve had lots of time to play together and get to know each other.

Q: How do you think the experience is different if you were to be on junior varsity?

A: Well, I’d definitely know more people and not be as out of my comfort zone, but this has given me the opportunity to meet more people and have an experience I wouldn’t have gotten to have otherwise.

Q: How is the varsity experience different for a freshman versus a junior or senior?

A: It definitely gives me more of an opportunity to prove myself and a way to stand out because I’m younger.

Q: What are some downsides to playing on varsity?

A: It’s a little intimidating sometimes to be the youngest person and not have anyone else the same age as me. I also feel I have to prove more that I belong there because I’m younger and that […] I’m not just on for no reason.

--

--

Michael Sunderland
Pilot Island

Oakland, CA. Teaching, learning, sports, and storytelling.