A Q&A With Mr. Fisher, SJND Alum and Teacher

Michael Sunderland
Pilot Island
Published in
3 min readSep 14, 2023

Written by Violetta V. ‘27

Mr. Fisher is a former student at SJND who graduated in 2014. He has recently come back this year to be the new Musical Theater teacher. I wanted to interview Mr. Fisher because of his experience at SJND and why he chose to come back to teach here.

Q: What was your high school experience like?

A: It was an overall positive experience because of the fact I immersed myself in everything. I was in the honors and AP classes, basketball, baseball, and theater during my senior year.

Q: What were some of your favorite memories here?

A: One of my favorite memories was winning state during my senior year, and when I asked a girl to homecoming after her Senior Night of volleyball during my sophomore year.

Q: Did you have a favorite class, and if so what was it?

A: I was a sports person so I was very into PE class, and as far as academics I would probably say just regular physics.

Q: If you could tell your high school self anything right now, what would you say to them?

A: I would tell him to keep doing what you’re doing and just try and go easy on yourself. There’s a long life ahead of you.

Q: If you could go back and do anything different in high school, what would you do?

A: I would probably just try to figure out how to spend more time with my younger brother who is two years younger than me, who started going here when I was a junior.

Q: Who inspired you the most when you were in high school?

A: Christopher Pondok. He was my freshman basketball coach and then he became the PE teacher and later the athletic director.

Q: How has your first year coming back to SJND felt?

A: It’s been odd but really fun. I see a lot of myself and the people I went to school with here in the students that are already here, so it’s weird but it’s a lot of fun.

Q: How has the school changed from when you went here?

A: I would say mostly the teachers. Alot of them are not here anymore. There’s only three teachers who are still here, who are Mr. McKee, Mr. Ritter, Ms. Cekola- and Mr. Rhatigan who came back to teach Calculus.

Q: What was your favorite year of high school and why?

A: That’s tough but I would probably say my senior year because I felt like I knew the most about what was going on around here, and I was extra busy because I wanted to be.

Q: What’s a piece of advice you can give incoming freshmen for high school?

A: Stay curious, involve yourself in the things you are curious about, and allow it to guide you.

--

--

Michael Sunderland
Pilot Island

Oakland, CA. Teaching, learning, sports, and storytelling.