New English Teacher Arrives to Shake-up The Status Quo- Meet Cherie McNaulty

Seank0508
Pilot Island
Published in
4 min readDec 11, 2023

By Sean Kimbrew ‘27

(Image courtesy of the Cherie McNaulty)

Earlier this week, I had the chance to interview SJND’s newest English teacher, Ms. McNaulty. It was such a pleasure to interview her and I hope you enjoy reading this article.

What inspired you to start teaching?
I was in a really bad accident and I hurt my back. I had finished 2 years of community college and I had come to California to sing with the San Francisco Opera Company in their Merola program. After living here for a while I had a family and unfortunately, a few years later, I had a back injury. I decided instead of sitting around, I would go back to school. During this time, I would continue my education at SF State University and stood up in classes for my first year there. The pain was that bad! It was funny though, because people would come into class and think that I was a teacher! Since I always have liked to help people, that’s how I decided to become a teacher.

Besides being a teacher, did you have any other career prospects that interested you?
When I was young and in school, I started singing and that’s when I met someone who used to sing with the Metropolitan Opera. She said that I had a really good voice for opera so she started to train me to sing that way. That’s why I came to San Francisco. Music was my first passion.

Did you have any music in your house when you were growing up?
No. I didn’t really know that I could sing until I was nine years old. One of the teachers came and heard me sing in the choir and said, “I want to help out with that,” full circle.

How would you say you’re enjoying teaching at SJND so far?
I like it a lot! I’ve taught at many different types of schools, I feel that the staff is really supportive, I’ve enjoyed teaching and developing relationships with the students. The 10th and 11th grades are a lot different than the 9th. I’ve gotten to know a lot of the students quickly and of course, I’ll teach the 9th graders next year. I really like it. I like all the activities and community events. I also enjoy the spiritual aspect of it.

Is English the only subject that you teach? Or are there any other subjects that you enjoy teaching?
At SJND I only teach English. AP English for 11th grade. At a previous school that I worked at, I was teaching all subjects. English, Science, Math, etc. But I really enjoyed teaching English and history.

If you were presented the opportunity, would you teach history here as well?
I guess depending on the time period it was, I would enjoy that.

Is there any strain of history that you enjoy teaching?
The Middle Ages and world history probably. I did a lot of studying for my master’s degree on the Civil War and slavery. So around that time period.

Outside of teaching, what is one thing that you like to do in your free time? What is one thing about you that nobody knows?
Hmm. I think a lot of people are surprised by the whole music thing and the San Quentin thing but I’m a really, really good cook. That would be surprising.

Is there anything that you enjoy cooking the most?
Italian food. I am Italian. My thing is that I like to go to restaurants and see if I can cook anything that they serve me. It’s why I have a hard time going to restaurants because I always think about if I can duplicate it (the food served). I know it’s not traditionally Italian but anything from Olive Garden is easy.

Has cooking always been a passion for you?
Well, my grandmother’s parents came over from Italy. I’m actually 3rd generation Italian. She always cooked and I remember so much of her cooking. So that has always been a special memory for me. I used to spend summers at her house where she would cook.

Now this is more of a fun question, would you ever go on a competition show for cooking if given the chance?
Would I go on a cooking show? Like Gordon Ramsey? No! Some of them seem really mean! But I mean I would feel comfortable. Some of them are mean. (laughs) I don’t like being yelled at.

In the past, you’ve mentioned that you go to San Quentin to give speeches. What speeches do you give and what are they about?
I run a program in San Quentin for domestic violence and healthy relationships called HEART. It stands for Healing, Empowerment, Accountability, Restoration, and Transformation. I teach in many modalities.

Is there a reason that you teach at San Quentin specifically? Or is it a program that you teach anywhere?
I’ve taught it in many different places. I’ve taught high schoolers and students at community colleges. But I teach inside because I want to reach as many people as possible who were either involved in it or affected by it or perpetrated it so that they can learn and change for the better. 87% percent of people who are incarcerated have experienced some type of home violence. I run two programs now that I teach every Sunday. One is for the general population, I have about 60 participants who are taking the course, and another one is for YOP. That means youth defenders. They are between the ages of 17 and 24. We were recently published in the news for the second graduation that we had.

Wow! That seems like a huge accomplishment! I am afraid that our time for this interview is up but thank you so much for your interview! Are there any final things that you would like to say?
No, I have none. This was fun!

--

--