Representing Math at the Open House

Michael Sunderland
Pilot Island
Published in
2 min readNov 16, 2023

Written by Aniya W. ‘27

Photo from SJND Instagram

Representing Algebra during the Open House in October was a great way to feel new levels of connectedness to the SJND school community and a great opportunity to meet new potential students!

When I first shadowed at SJND back in 2022, I remembered feeling so welcomed and cared for by the people I was surrounded by, and that was one of the reasons why I really wanted to be a student here. I knew that if I showed the same care that was shown to me when I first visited, to the kids coming to the Open House, that’d affect them in the way it affected me.

“I think being at Open House attracted more people to come to this school because it brought people to see what the school community and classes are like. It also showed who the students and teachers are,” 9th grader Giana H. said.

Being a student here, I didn’t expect to learn or realize anything new at Open House, but I was wrong. Helping out at the Open House, I realized how much I bonded with other students and connected with teachers. Especially my math teacher Ms. Fahy.

Math has always been something I struggled with, but ever since coming to SJND and using resources like Pilot Prep, I’ve gotten way more confident.

“Open House made my passion for math stronger because I got to do math with other people,” said Giana, and I totally agree. I really do feel like the opportunity to meet new people and demonstrate what I’ve learned made me and others even more excited and passionate about learning.

I look forward to next year!

--

--

Michael Sunderland
Pilot Island

Oakland, CA. Teaching, learning, sports, and storytelling.