Meet Jenie, Mom-to-be & Senior Engineering Manager

PiMothers
PiMothers
Published in
3 min readDec 11, 2016

Jenie Gao is a Senior Engineering Manager at LinkedIn. She is passionate about building cohesive and effective teams and building products that bring positive impacts to people’s everyday lives. Jenie cares deeply about the engineers on her team and is very passionate for developing leaders. She is expecting her first child very soon.

Q: Let’s start with a personal question. Why and how did you decide to become a mother?

For majority of my adulthood I didn’t want to be a mother. Having a child was not super appealing to me as I wanted to travel and focus on career growth.

I’ve realized that having a kid is a miracle and meeting the right person makes a big difference…

If you never do it you would regret it. Also, it’s my way of contributing back to continuation of next generation and to humankind.

Q: How did you prepare yourself for this change? Any words of advice, books, blogs that you would recommend.

It’s a lot of fear and excitement, OMG and O’Shit! Sometimes, in the morning I forget that I am pregnant and I am shocked when I realize (in the mirror ;)

Coming to this decision was a lot of soul searching.

At work, I wrote up a plan for the time I am away, had a discussion with my leads a month back. We reviewed this plan. I also ensured direct leadership is there for day to day responsibility, quarterly planning and most of all, one-on-ones.

As a company, Linkedin is super supportive for having a family and maintaining healthy work-life balance. Most tech companies are. If you are at a company that isn’t, then you need to look elsewhere.

At home, we do quite a lot on weekend — setting up a crib, preparing the house etc. Part of the preparation is paying for help, for instance, birthing class and breastfeeding class. Doula guides you through birth, for example.

Q: What changes do you expect in your daily routine now vs in coming months?

I assume my schedule would be more rigid. I need to be more efficient. I can’t leave at 8 PM. I can be more efficient later at night when the kid is asleep.

Q: Have you decided between daycare or babysitter? Would you like to share how you chose one?

We haven’t made a decision on any one yet. Nanny share is a good option in the bay area for hiring a nanny. First six to eight months daycare is probably not a good idea.

Q: How do you achieve a balance between career and family?

There will almost definitely be an impact on your career. There are ways you can minimize that and also you can prepare to get the best of both. You can learn from examples.

Some of it is talking to people. I’ve spoken to a few female leaders at the company. It’s just like it comes up, I am not actively scheduling any time with them.

Q: Do you have any advice for women who are pondering to-be or not-to-be?

You can do both, don’t let one compromise the other. There are ways to make it both work. Asking for help is very important. People are very accommodating and understanding to new parents.

Making sure you have a plan before going on leave, so team is set up for success. Having discussion with leads early to review the course of action will set the ground for success of the team in your absence and for your return.

Getting back in the industry three or four years after staying at home is even more difficult. Even if your nanny cost takes up your entire salary. Even if you are net zero for some time, upwards trajectory in your career is quite definite. So stick around and don’t be afraid. Make sure you get what you want out of life.

Originally published at www.pimothers.com.

--

--

PiMothers
PiMothers

Encourage passionate women in science & tech to continue awesome work while being awesome moms! check out stories at http://www.pimothers.com/