A Digital to Digital+ Transformation for a brand that sells handmade shoes.

Vicky Dallas
PimpMyPromotion
Published in
4 min readApr 20, 2018

#PimpMyPromotion — Episode IV

My posts up to now had to do with my new hobby: transforming ads from the Physical world to their Digital form. However the other day I noticed an ad on instagram that I just could not help adding to my series of digital transformations. So for this episode I guess I am doing a Digital to Digital+ Transformation.

This means that I made some alternative promotions to the digital campaign I noticed on instagram. From now on I think I will continue doing that as well, since I cannot visit malls every day 🤷‍.

Drum Roll….. Aaaaaand… the transformation is from a campaign I saw by The Workshop.

Here is what they say on their facebook page:
Thomas Carlyle once said “A man cannot make a pair of shoes rightly unless he do it in a devout manner.”
THE WORKSHOP honors that belief by crafting handmade shoes since 1938.

Recording from my Phone of the Campaign on Instagram

To start with, here is what I actually saw. On the specific campaign they advertise their new collection of shoes, and I guess I was in their target audience… 🤩 lucky me!

As you can see the campaign is presenting all different colors offered at their new collection.

The moment I saw that, I had 2 ideas on how I could transform that.

The first thought was the Carousel Template & the second thought was the Wheel of Fortune template of Appocalypsis.

The different colors and the way those were presented, inspired me to create something in which I would keep the colors concept. Especially in the Wheel of Fortune Example.

STEP 1: I had to get all the images from their website so that I could create the new campaigns.

The New Collection and the available colors.

STEP 2: Create the Carousel Widget.

Building the Carousel Widget at the Magnificent Workbench of Appocalypsis

This template was a piece of cake. I had to make minor modifications to our existing template in order to make it work. I added the images and then I customized the buttons to match the colors of the each shoe.

THE END RESULT:

The Carousel Stops when the Visitor moves the mouse over each shoe. FOR A LIVE DEMO CLICK HERE

STEP 3: One transformation was simply not enough for this. This campaign is a great fit for our Wheel of Fortune, so I just couldn’t call it a day!

The end result Wheel of Fortune FOR A LIVE DEMO CLICK HERE

The Wheel of Fortune was a bit harder to create because it needed more customizations in order to meet what I had in mind.

When I saw the original campaign, the problem I had was that I wasn’t able to choose which color I wanted!! Sooooo… I sent my sister and my cousins the link of the brand and asked them…. WHICH COLOR DO YOU SUGGEST? As you can imagine, each of hte girls suggested a different color.

Having that in mind, I created the Wheel in order to choose the Color for me … !!!

That is all folks. #TGIF

By the way… Which color would YOU Choose?

Till next time… If you want me to transform YOUR campaign to its Digital Form feel free to contact me at dallas@appocalypsis.com or tweet the following:

“@dallasvicky please #PimpMyPromotion” click to tweet

I love challenges and I love giving campaigns a breath of fresh (digital) air…!

PS. If you enjoyed this transformation you might want to check my older transformations:

--

--