All about complex systems with PIMS PDF Jyoti Bhadana at the University of Alberta.

By Lisa Sammoh, Communications and Events Assistant.

Jyoti Bhadana’s primary research interest is in Stochastic Dynamics and Mathematical Modeling. She completed her Ph.D. in Complex Systems from Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU), New Delhi, India. She gained experience in computational and mathematical techniques during her Ph.D. and has applied those techniques in biology and other systems. This integrated knowledge of interdisciplinary topics has given her the proper perspective to think, study and analyze complex systems. Currently, Jyoti is working as a PIMS Postdoctoral Fellow with Prof. MA Kouritzin, Department of Mathematics and Statistical Sciences, University of Alberta, where she is exploring filtering theory and deep neural network learning.

Tell us about your academic journey, how you connected with your current PDF supervisor, and what your research interests are?

My interest in pure basic science developed since I started participating in science seminars and exhibitions. I was strongly motivated to study science and went on to complete a B.Sc in Physics, Chemistry & Mathematics, and M.Sc. in Complex Systems from Jawaharlal Nehru University, India. Around this time, I realized the importance of theoretical modeling, computational techniques, and simulations. I classify myself as a philomath and very observant person. The integrated knowledge of these interdisciplinary topics gives me the proper perspective to think, study and analyze complex systems.

With all that in mind, I then enrolled as a research scholar for my Ph.D. at Jawaharlal Nehru University, India. I came to develop stochastic models using analytic and computational modeling techniques, which are expected to regulate bio-molecular networks’ functional mechanism and associated signal processing and solve it analytically within the stochastic framework (Universality in stochastic enzymatic futile cycle). I also worked on the gene expression model (Noise and delay can shape distribution functions in stochastic reaction dynamics), an epidemic model, to give a new structure to my research. During my PhD, I was awarded the Senior Research Fellowship (SRF) project on cancer dynamics by the Indian Council of Medical Research. Stochastic approaches allow us to describe complex cancer dynamics that are hard to understand with experimental or clinical protocols. My PhD research also aimed to study stochastic chaos, noise, fractality, and large-scale simulation using the Stochastic Simulation Algorithm and related improved algorithms.

Having the experience and training now, I am willing to take on new challenges from a new and exciting field. I can thank Professor MA Koutizin (University of Alberta) for giving me the chance to finally expand on my research domain. My goals now are to use machine learning techniques and artificial intelligence to analyze the big data associated with complex systems to understand their properties for possible predictions and support stochastic formalism.

As a postdoc, what insights have you gained from teaching?

I joined the University of Alberta last November, and this semester, I am an instructor for the Probability and Stochastic Processes course. It has been pleasant to see and interact with students back in classrooms after the pandemic and Zoom classes. I believe that teaching is not a one-way learning process. I try to make sure that my classes are interactive, especially with a diverse student body. We have a variety of students from computer science, mathematics, and statistics academic backgrounds. So far, it has been a wonderful experience.

What does research and life balance mean to you?

I feel privileged to have studied in India. Jawaharlal Nehru University has a very cordial, multi-ethnic, and multicultural environment. The environment assures that people from every part of India, other countries, and every stratum of society can study there peacefully. I also like to travel and explore new places. Whenever I got positive results from a research problem during my PhD, I used to pack my bags for a trip with friends or alone. It calmed me. One other thing about traveling is getting to try out different cuisines. To get the authentic taste of “Masalas”(spices), I like to travel around many places in India. Travelling for me is a rewarding experience usually. I also love to cook. Because I usually don’t like working on weekends unless something important comes up, I take the time to go out or plan cooking sessions with friends. It is important to take a break for one day a week to calm myself and plan ahead. Right now, I have been exploring Edmonton on the weekends, and will plan to go hiking soon.

Jyoti will be speaking at the PIMS Emergent Research Seminar Series, on March 15, 2023, at 9:30 AM Pacific. Details on her talk and poster, The Bootstrap Learning Algorithm, can be found here.

--

--

Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences
The Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences

PIMS — A consortium of 10 universities promoting research in and application of the mathematical sciences of the highest international calibre.