Great quotes and mathematical pursuits: Meet Jane Shaw MacDonald, our PIMS PDF at Simon Fraser University.

By Lisa Sammoh, Communications and Events Assistant.

Jane Shaw MacDonald earned her PhD at the University of Ottawa, where, working with Prof. Yves Bourgault and Prof. Frithjof Lutscher, her thesis spanned subjects in mathematical ecology, numerical analysis, and computational sciences. In this work, she derived mathematical models in one and two spatial dimensions describing a population residing in a climate-driven moving habitat, she developed and validated numerical solvers for each of these models, and she applied these solvers to ecological scenarios in order to further our understanding about the impact of climate change on a species’ ability to persist. Now she is working at Simon Fraser University with Prof Nilima Nigam and Prof John Stockie on the regularisation and numerical approximation of line sources and mathematical modelling of nordic skiing. In addition to her mathematical pursuits, she is a committed community servant, and in the last year co- founded Math to Power Her Life, an outreach program for middle-school, self-identifying girls to explore mathematics as a career. Her personal hobbies include many outdoor activities, art, and reading.

Tell us about your academic journey.

While studying at the University of Manitoba, the welcoming community of mathematicians there helped me nurture my interests in mathematics. Later, while completing my bachelor’s degree, I searched for a master’s program where I could study mathematical modelling applied to biological sciences, leading me to a conversation with Prof. Lutscher at the University of Ottawa. For my master’s thesis, I contributed to the literature on moving-habitat models, and then was inspired to take a more computational approach for my PhD work under the co-supervision of Prof. Bourgault and Prof. Lutscher, where I developed numerical methods for generalizing these models.

Reading while on a cross country camping trip with my husband.

Afterward, I sought opportunities as a postdoctoral researcher and applied for a position at Simon Fraser University. Even though I didn’t get that particular position due to my unavailability at the posted start time, it eventually led to my current PIMS Postdoctoral Fellowship with Prof. Stockie, and Prof. Nigam, allowing me to continue pursuing my interests in numerical mathematics and mathematical modelling.

What field are you in and what is your current research on?

My interests include numerical mathematics, computational sciences, and mathematical modelling, with a focus on applying partial differential equations to ecological and physiological phenomena (which I find particular joy in). Currently, my research involves the study of line source regularisations and mathematical modelling of nordic skiing.

Snowman building on a snowshoe hike through Gatineau Park, Québec.

What does research and life balance mean to you?

“I am large, I contain multitudes,” (Whitman, Song of Myself, 51) strongly resonates with me, as my passions span across mathematics and community service, as well as other activities such as art, reading, and physical activity. Spending time at Winnipeg Beach in particular, where I have been going with family and friends my whole life, holds a special place in my heart. As a wife, sister, auntie, daughter, granddaughter, and cousin, I enjoy fulfilling my many roles in my family. To me, achieving balance between research and life means embracing all of my multitudes.

What has been your best discovery since arriving at SFU? What are you looking forward to learning/ seeing about Vancouver and your postdoctoral position at the university?

I highly value the Applied Math Working Seminar held regularly here, which provides a great opportunity for graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and faculty to discuss ongoing research. The seminar fosters interesting discussions and helps me connect with the community. This summer, I plan to explore the city, go on hikes in the mountains and islands, and teach a numerical analysis course. Teaching always brings new insights, even when you’re teaching linear algebra for the umpteenth time. I’m excited to see how it helps me grow as a mathematician and teacher.

Hanging with our family dog, Ginger, at Winnipeg Beach.

Jane will be speaking at the PIMS Emergent Research Seminar Series, on April 26, 2023, at 9:30 AM Pacific. Details on her talk and poster, The impact of accelerating and fluctuating speeds of climate change on a population, can be found here.

--

--

Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences
The Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences

PIMS — A consortium of 10 universities promoting research in and application of the mathematical sciences of the highest international calibre.