Why I’m choosing Flutter in 2022

Thomas Middel
Pinch.nl
Published in
6 min readDec 19, 2021

--

There are more than enough options in mobile development to go for, but I’m sticking with Google’s Flutter for 2022.

Briefly looking back

I’ll start off by saying that I’m originally a native Android developer, but I’ve been doing Flutter for 2.5 years now and am still enjoying it to the fullest. With Flutter, I still get the Googley approach I had when I was developing Android apps but could explore something new at a professional level at the same time.

It was a difficult choice to make at the time: Flutter just went stable and it was hard to figure out if this really was something for the future or just another Google project that would be abandoned rather sooner than later. At the same time I was doing great with Android development, so deciding to ‘leave a winning team’ and put my full focus on something that was uncertain was frightening. At the same time, I also felt a bit of excitement: it was new and opened opportunities for both myself as a developer as well as for Pinch, the agency I’m working for. We could be one of the forerunners that dedicate to Flutter in a production environment.

And yet again, we always tend to try out new stuff but keep falling back on native development because the developer experience isn’t great, performance is not up to par or the gains of a hybrid solution…

--

--